Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shattermeTitle/Author: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Publisher/Year: HarperCollins on November 15, 2011
Genre: YA Dystopian/Romance
Series: Yes! Trilogy
Other Books by Author: Unravel Me, Destroy Me (e-novella)
How I got this Book: Borrowed it from the library
Blurb from the back of the Book: No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her.  Plans to use her as a weapon.  But Juliette has plans of her own.  After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time – and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

My Thoughts copy

 Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi is one of the better books I have read recently.  To start, the concept is very intriguing!  A post-apocalyptic world where birds don’t fly, and flowers are rare, a dictatorship called The Reestablishment has taken over, promising to make the world better again.  But of course, they are not going to, and they are just selfish, evil people.  They have put the narrator, Juliette, into an asylum to keep her and her dangerous touch hidden away from the world.

The way Shatter Me is written is fantastic!  Told from the perspective of the narrator, the story is a journal written by Juliette herself.  Full of crossed out sentences and bits of stream of consciousness writing, we are able to get right into Juliette’s head and heart and feel every emotion, experience every thought and idea.  You really get to understand the pain this girl feels.  She has never felt a loving embrace, was unloved by her parents, and was considered a monster.  In my opinion, Tahereh took a great leap of faith in writing Shatter Me in this way, as it is definitely not something we are used to!  It took my a little while to get acquainted with, but after that I appreciated the style so much because of the depth it added to Juliette’s character.

I don’t want to give too much away here, so the last thing I’m going to talk about is the romance.  Seriously, if you want to read a swoon-worthy book, THIS IS IT!  The romance/kissing scenes in this book are… omg. I can’t even find words!!! Tahereh is the kissy-scence-writing goddess!!
Final Thoughts

If you want a book full of action, romance, and an interesting, new writing style, then Shatter Me is the book for you!  I honestly can’t think of one thing that I didn’t enjoy about this book.  I loved every minute of this book, and I couldn’t put it down!!  I cannot wait to read Unravel Me, I need to get my hands on that book NOW.Favourite Quote

I spent my life folded between the pages of books.  In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters.  I loved love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association.  My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together.  I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed though fiction.
Talk to me

Have you read Shatter Me?  Did you like the writing style?  Have you read any other books with interesting writing styles?  Tell me your thoughts! :)

12 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Natalie! This book is so near and dear to my little heart. I love it so, so much. (Have you read Unravel Me yet? — If not, do it ASAP!) Great review! I totally agree that the most unique aspect is the writing style. Love how different it is. And also? The shower scene? HOT. (*fans self*)

    • THE SHOWER SCENE! Soooo amazing! And I need to get my hands on a copy of Unravel Me! Hopefully the library has it and that there’s not a wait list of 1283719283712 people… If there is I’ll splurge and buy it! But I need it. Like, now :P

  2. I own a copy of Shatter Me but haven’t had the chance to read it yet. Which is so sad since I keep hearing such amazing things about it! I’m happy you enjoy it though and you have definitely made me bump it up a few space on my TBR queue.

    p.s.
    Welcome to the awesome world of book blogging!! :)
    -Octavia of Read. Sleep. Repeat.

  3. I absolutely adore Shatter Me! Tahereh Mafi’s writing is phenomenal. I am incredibly in love with it. I’ve read Shatter Me and Destroy Me twice, and I plan to re-read Unravel Me soon, because it was even BETTER.

    Like, seriously. The woman is a genius. And her kissing writing skills are BEYOND COMPREHENSION. And I say this as a reader who reads a LOT of romance.

    Welcome to the blogging world! I’m a new follower, and I hope to talk to you soon. :)

      • I would highly recommend it! And definitely read Destroy Me before you read Unravel Me. While it’s not *technically* necessary to understand the plot, it is very helpful for understanding characters and some background information. Plus, you know, it’s just fantastic because Mafi’s writing is my favorite thing ever.

  4. Please oh please oh please tell me that you love Adam too?

    I digress. Shatter Me is indeed a fantastic novel, and I certainly can’t believe I waited so long to read it. I had difficulty with the prose initially, but later on, I thought it was very creative, unique and definitely a way to get the reader’s attention and understanding when it came to Juliette.

  5. Pingback: #BookReview: Unravel Me by @TaherehMafi | Reading 'En Vogue'

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Sequels I Desperately Need To Read – because I have a series-ous problem | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

