Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergentTitle/Author: Divergent by Veronica Roth
Publisher/Year: Katherine Tegen Books on May 3, 2011
Genre: YA Dystopian, Romance
Series: Triology
Other Books by Author: Insurgent (Divergent #2)
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

My Thoughts copy

Well, my first thought is “Give me Insurgent right now OMG I need to read it immediately!!!!!” OK, now I can focus. Divergent was UH-MAZING! I could not put it down, and I read it in about 10 hours. I started this book while at work in a grocery store working the customer service counter. I had the book in a drawer and I would open the drawer and read in between customers! From that moment I could not stop reading this book. I came home and read until the wee hours of the morning, and woke up with the book on top of me!!!

Divergent’s main character Beatrice is living in dystopian Chicago, and was raised in the Abnegation faction. Unfortunately, Beatrice has never felt fully at home in this faction that values selflessness above all else. Each 16 year old must choose which of the five factions they wish to become a member of. Imagine that. Imagine living in a world where you must choose which of only five values (honesty, selflessness, bravery, peacefulness, and intelligence) you value more than anything else, and live the rest of your life according to that decision you have made. This just spells disaster! I personally believe that a combination of all those values would make for well-rounded people who would be able to ensure the best for this dystopian world. But, there would be no story if that were the case.

Beatrice makes her decision (which I will not spoil for anyone) and it is one that surprises everyone – including herself! Beatrice is this narrator of this story, and she really doesn’t hide what she’s feeling in the slightest! Tris (what Beatrice has renamed herself) is definitely one of my favourite heroines. She’s the perfect mix of hero – has all the qualities to save the world and all that jazz – and real teenage girl – worrying about friends and boys and whatnot. Speaking of boys, Tris meets Four, a totally swoon-worthy boy at her initiation into the faction she has chosen. The spark between those two is totally evident, but of course it takes a little while for them both to realize it. They grow into having one of the best relationships, and I absolutely love Four and I want him all to myself!!!!
Final Thoughts

Read this book. Everyone who loves an action-packed, dystopian book with just the right amount of swoon and an incredibly original plot needs to check this book out!! You will not regret this decision, I promise! Divergent by Veronica Roth was absolutely fantastic, and allows you to experience a wide variety of emotions, ranging from ecstatic, to sad, to angry and certain characters. One thing I will say I am not a fan of is violence for no reason, which did happen a little in this book, but it was important to the plot in a way! That’s the only thing I wasn’t 100% on board with, but other than that, Divergent was AWESOME!!

Also, my edition of the book had a whole section at the back with an interview with Veronica, the faction manifestos, and even a quiz to see which faction you would be in! I took the quiz and it told me I am best suited for Erudite.

Favourite Quote

“I have something I need to tell you,” he says. I run my fingers along the tendons in his hands and look back at him. “I might be in love with you.” He smiles a little. “I’m waiting until I’m sure to tell you, though.”
“That’s sensible of you,” I say, smiling too. “We should find some paper so you can make a list or a chart or something.”
I feel his laughter against my side, his nose sliding along my jaw, his lips pressing my ear.
“Maybe I’m already sure,” he says, “and I just don’t want to frighten you.”
I laugh a little. “Then you should know better.”
“Fine,” he says. “Then I love you.”

Talk to meHave you read Divergent? What were your thoughts on it? Did you like Four? Have you taken the faction quiz? If so, what faction were you, and would you choose that one or a different one?

18 thoughts on “Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Great review!! I looooove this series, and adore Four as well – gotta be one of my favorite book-boyfriends. ;) I’d probably want to be in Erudite…. or wherever they let you read the most books…. though I’m not sure YA fiction would fly in Erudite? lol

    Welcome to the book blogosphere, btw! I started my book blog just last week too! I saw Jamie from Broke and Bookish tweet a welcome, which is what led me here. Excited to follow your reviews!

    • Yeah haha, YA lit would probably be a big no-no in Erudite, but I would be okay with whatever books I could get my greedy little hands on!!

      And thanks for the welcome :) Jamie was awesome for tweeting that about me!! And woohoooo! Another book blog newbie like myself :)

  2. I loved Divergent & Insurgent! Personally, I love Insurgent even more, but it is very different, so I understand why some people don’t like it as much. I love Tris & Four’s relationship. I don’t think Tris and I would get along well at all in real life(she’s much too reckless), but she makes an interesting character to read about. The quote that you selected is one of my favorites as well.
    I took the faction quiz and got Dauntless, which I’m not sure I agree with(um, I’m the most thorough/cautious person I know), but then I also got sorted into Gryffindor every time I tried on Pottermore, so maybe there’s something there about myself that I’m just not good at seeing. I think if I had a choice of factions, though, I’d chose Abnegation.

    • Haha, yeah! Maybe you’re more brave and “dauntless” than you think! I got sorted into Ravenclaw on Pottermore, which goes along with Erudite. As for Abnegation? I’m all for living selflessly, but I don’t think I could deal with not being able to wear your hair how you choose to, and heading to dress in grey all the time. I like colour waaaaayyyy too much!!

  3. This is a book I definitely need to read (was on my TTT this last week). EVERYONE has great things to say about. I don’t think I’ve seen a bad review yet. But hey, at least if I go buy it now my book should have all that extra stuff in the back like yours did! :)

    • Yeah! The extras in the back of the book were really awesome. It had a teaser for Insurgent too, but I can’t bring myself to read it because I know I’ll want to read the rest of the book right then but I don’t have a copy yet!! :(

      • I know! That’s actually one of my excuses for not having read the book yet. The third book isn’t scheduled to be released until October so if I wait until then I can read all three without having to wait! :P

      • Oooh! Look at your playing my little devil’s advocate. You are right, sometimes you need time to digest the story. And with so many people talking about it… We’ll see how long my resistance lasts!

  4. Divergent is one of my favorite books ever, ever, ever. I read it in my early days of blogging, and devoured it on one long train ride from DC to NY. It’s just so gripping! I loved the concept of the factions, and of course, I fell head over heels in love with Four.

    You should definitely read Insurgent and see what happens next. It’s quite… interesting.

    • FOUR <3 I've been dying to read Insurgent, but I don't have a copy of it yet! :( I'll probably go out today to get it. And weirdly enough, I'm going on a long train ride tomorrow and saturday! HOW PERFECT IS THAT!!!

  5. Yay, that’s great you loved it! It’s always amazing finding a book you love so much :) I felt like I was missing just a little bit but could never quite put my finger on it. I’m still really looking forward to the last book though!

  6. Pingback: Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth (NO SPOILERS!!!) | books, etc.

  7. Pingback: Divergence – Veronica Roth | S'évader grâce aux livres

Leave a Reply

