Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth (NO SPOILERS!!!)

insurgentTitle/Author: Insurgent
Publisher/Year: Harper Teen on May 1, 2012
Genre: YA Dystopian/Romance
Series: Yes!
Other Books by Author: Divergent (1st book in trilogy), Free Four (Divergent novella)
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

My Thoughts copy

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I went into Insurgent with some pretty high hopes after reading Divergent , and I can tell you with complete certainty that Veronica Roth completely blew my expectations out of the water! Insurgent was absolutely fantastic and I loved it and I just don’t think there is any way better way to express how I feel. Except maybe a GIF. Let’s see:

What did I love about Insurgent?everything

Although I will admit that I was frustrated quite a bit while reading this due to certain characters actions, you realize at the end of the story why everything was necessary and why they were acting certain ways. Even back in Divergent, I never completely agreed with the decisions Tris was making sometimes, yet in the end everything always worked out. The same sort of thing happened for me with Insurgent. Tris is very stubborn, and doesn’t always make what seems would be the wisest decision, but things usually work out okay. Tris went through A LOT in this book, and it is very evident how it changed her character. But this change was good, because she really figured out who she is and what she is meant to do with her life.

I was a little disappointed that Insurgent didn’t have as much romance/kissy/swoon scenes as Divergent, but that was entirely important for the plot of this book, so I guess that makes it okay :P That being said, there was still a lot of focus on Tris and Tobias’ (Four’s) relationship.  I loved how this book really showed how not every relationship is perfect, and how there is always some sort of strain. And I think this made me like their relationship even better in this book, because it seemed more true to life, and because after everything they still choose to be with each other.

Finally, just as Divergent did, there was a GINORMOUS plot twist/cliffhanger at the end of Insurgent, which makes me need the next book right now!!! I’m excited to see where Veronica will take us in the story, and how the twist will evolve!

Final Thoughts

I’m going to keep this short and sweet here: I absolutely adored Insurgent, and though frustrating at times, this book was so much better than I had hoped for. If you have read Divergent and are hesitant about reading Insurgent, DON’T BE! Read this book. Like, now. No, I’m serious. Go.Favourite Quote

Cruelty does not make a person dishonest, the same way bravery does not make a person kind.Talk to me

Have you read Insurgent yet? What did you think of it? Were you ever frustrated with characters/plot? If you haven’t read it, have you read Divergent? Do you plan on starting this series? Because I really think you should :P

9 thoughts on “Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth (NO SPOILERS!!!)

  1. I know people have mixed feelings on Insurgent, but I LOVED it. I think it’s much, MUCH better than Divergent. I liked the first book, but I love this one! It’s definitely a different focus, so I can get how people who really liked reading about Dauntless training might not like this one as much, though. It’s definitely different. The ending made my head spin(and makes waiting for the 3rd book extremely difficult).

  2. Pingback: Divergence – Veronica Roth | S'évader grâce aux livres

  3. I’m conflicted about Insurgent! The one thing that I don’t really agree with is that Veronica starts her books and doesn’t know exactly where they are going or what the characters are going to do. I know some people may like this but it makes her kill off random characters at the confusing times… In the back of the book she explains why “When characters die, it’s usually because I hit a point in the story where I don’t feel danger anymore, because no one Tris cares about is in peril, and then someone goes. Bam! Who that is depends on the moment in the story. It’s often a shock to me.” Now I think that the death of a character (especially main ones!!) shouldn’t be taken so lightly like that and the thing that bothers me is she compares the way she deals with character death to J.K. Rowling and that just doesn’t make sense! Rowling had almost the ENTIRE plot line of Harry Potter written in her head before she started the first book!! (Of course she didn’t have dialogue or anything decided yet of course cause that would be crazyyyy)
    Anywayyy after all that the thing that I would like to say about Insurgent (and also about Divergent) is that I LOVE the concept of the story but I don’t think I am a fan of Veronica Roth’s writing. I will definitely read the next one because I love the plot but I’d like it if she planned it a little more so the book didn’t seem so erratic :-S I don’t know I know this sounds like I hate the books but I don’t I just have a different belief on how stories should be approached… especially with character death. I hope this wasn’t too mean! :-)

  4. I LOVED Divergent and Insurgent! This series is just under Hunger Games for me! I actually even almost re-read Insurgent immediately after finishing it, and I never re-read books! I know that’s weird. There’s just so little time and too many books to be read and written. :)

Leave a Reply

