Review: The Boyfriend List (15 guys, 11 shrink appointments, 4 ceramic frogs, and me, Ruby Oliver) by E. Lockhart

boyfriend listTitle/Author: The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart
Publisher/Year: Ember on March 22, 2005
Genre: YA Contemporary/Romance
Series: Yes!
Other Books by Author: The Boy Book (Ruby Oliver 2), The Treasure Map of Boys (Ruby Oliver 3), Real Live Boyfriends (Ruby Oliver 4), The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
How I got this Book: Borrowed from the library
Summary From Goodreads: Fifteen-year-old Ruby has had a rough ten days. During that time she:

* lost her boyfriend (#13 on the list)
* lost her best friend (Kim)
* lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)
* did something suspicious with a boy (#10)
* did something advanced with a boy (#15)
* had an argument with a boy (#14)
* had a panic attack
* lost a lacrosse game (she’s the goalie)
* failed a math test (she’ll make it up)
* hurt Meghan’s feelings (even though they aren’t really friends)
* became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch)
* had graffiti written about her in the girls’ bathroom (who knows what was in the boys’!?!)

But don’t worry–Ruby lives to tell the tale. And make more lists.

My Thoughts copy

There are so many little details about The Boyfriend List that made me fall in love with it. Firstly, Lockhart’s writing is so fun! The lists are cute, and the book is riddled with footnotes that cover anything from explaining a pop culture reference to providing a little more insight on what was going on – all from Ruby’s perspective.

Another thing I really liked about this book, was the “Boy Book” that Ruby and her friends used to write in. I loved that idea, and I wish that my friends and I had thought of starting one of those in high school! I mean, we practically had one, but it was unwritten, comprised of only our conversations regarding boys :P Well, at least I have 5 years of university ahead of me. Maybe I’ll try and start one with the girls on my floor next year!

I also really appreciated how REAL Ruby’s interactions with her friends were in this book. The things they would talk about and the things they would do are exactly what my friends and I would do and talk about! Lockhart truly captured the high school experience in The Boyfriend List. (Except I don’t ever recall a “boyfriend list” going around the school and shattering a girl’s whole social life deeming her a slut and therefore losing all of her friends. But other than that… ;) )

Again, in regards to how the book was written, I like how each chapter was dedicated to one of the boys on Roo’s list. It created an interesting way to have the story unravel, including a lot of flashbacks and reminders about previous events.

Finally, I just want to throw it out there that I am truly not a fan of Kim, Roo’s best “friend” who end’s up dating Jackson, Ruby’s ex. That is just not something you do. It is not acceptable. Come on Kim!!! It’s part of the GIRL CODE!!!!!!

Final Thoughts

I thoroughly enjoyed The Boyfriend List. It was super cute, a light and quick read, and it actually made me laugh out loud on quite a few occasions – some of them slightly inopportune moments, but totally worth it! I honestly can’t wait to read the rest of the series and find out more about Ruby Oliver’s quirky little life!
Favourite Quote

I say, thirteen is too many dogs for good mental health. Five is pretty much the limit. More than five dogs and you forfeit your right to call yourself entirely sane. Even if the dogs are small.Talk to me

Have you read the Ruby Oliver series? What did you think about the writing style? Has anything like what happened to Ruby ever happen to you?

8 thoughts on “Review: The Boyfriend List (15 guys, 11 shrink appointments, 4 ceramic frogs, and me, Ruby Oliver) by E. Lockhart

  1. I absolutely LOVED this series! Ruby Oliver is one of my favorite characters in YA. She is lovable, annoying, incredibly witty, bright and so very flawed all at once. She just makes you love her! So glad you enjoyed it! :)

    • I stil haven’t read the other books yet, but I’ve been meaning to! My local library has the first, third, and fourth. How weird, right?? But yeah, looooved Ruby as a character! She was just the epitome of awesome.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “The Boy Book” | The Cheap Reader

  3. Pingback: Book Review: “The Boyfriend List” | The Cheap Reader

  4. Pingback: Book Review: “Real Live Boyfriends” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

