Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

unearthlyTitle/Author: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
Publisher/Year: Harper Teen on January 4, 2011
Genre: YA Paranormal
Series: Yes!
Other Books by Author: Hallowed (Unearthly #2), Boundless (Unearthly #3)
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

My Thoughts copy

I’ll admit, I was slightly skeptical about Unearthly.  I just really didn’t think that anyone would be able to pull off a well orchestrated book about angels!  But after hearing a lot of my book blogger friends rave on and on about this book, and when I found out that one of the swoonworthy boys was a COWBOY, I decided to finally give this book a shot.  And let me tell you, I am so so so glad I did!!! I honestly think that this may be one of my favourite books I’ve read this year!

I’m going to start with my thoughts about the plot.  And here they are: IT WAS ALL SO CREATIVE AND AMAZING!  Cynthia did a fantastic job in writing this book about angels, a subgenre of paranormal books that is just so hard to tackle.  She did her research, and made sure that she had a believable and strong backstory regarding the history of angels, all of their powers, the different blood levels.  You name it, Cynthia had it covered. Even down to the proper names for full, half, and quarter blood angels!  I really appreciated that the time was taken to have this backstory/history provided to us throughout the story, as it made the plot and the things that were happening in the story feel more real to me.

After being told she is an angel by her mother, Clara knows that she now has a “purpose” in life.  One specific this that she was put on Earth to accomplish.  She begins to have a series of visions that slowly reveal her purpose to her, although she never really knows the full extent of her purpose until she is right in the moment.  Being a teenage girl myself, I think that Clara handled her situation quite well!  Personally, if I was told when I was 17 that there is one specific thing that I was put on Earth to accomplish, and if I didn’t there might be some pretty bad consequences, I really think that I would begin to freak out.  Like, A LOT!! There would be tons of flailing, and hyperventilating, and god knows what else.  So, with that in mind, I honestly think that Clara handled hearing the truth about herself and her purpose in life exceedingly well.

Clara has to deal with a lot after she and her mother and brother pick up and move to Wyoming in order for her to complete her purpose.  She has to make new friends, try to find out all she can about her purpose, and end up choosing between the boy in her visions (Christian, the hot, popular boy) and the boy in her life (Tucker, the hot, cowboy).  Let me just put this out there right now, I AM TEAM TUCKER ALL THE WAY!!!  There is nothing better in life than a guy wearing cowboy boots and a cowboy hat who drives a rusty old pickup truck. NOTHING!! Anywhooo, Clara ends up befriending Wendy, a girl who is a straight up,  genuinely great friend. And oh yeah, Tucker’s sister!  Clara also becomes very close friends with Angela, who will be able to help her and connect with her in a way that Clara never imagined.

I don’t want to give away too much, but essentially, Clara has a lot of tough decisions to make between her angelic duties and following her heart.  In the end, we are left with just the right amount of questions to warrant the reading of the next book in the series, which I want to do right now!!!
Final Thoughts

Honestly, I ended up loving this book when I never really thought that I would.  I’m not a big paranormal/fantasy reader, and especially not books about angels. But I can say that I am seriously glad I read this book and listened to my awesome book blogger friends!! Cynthia did an amazing job with this book, and I can’t wait to see what’s next for Clara in Hallowed.
Favourite Quote

Tucker: “But she gave me the perfect gift.”
Clara: “What?”
Tucker: “You.”
Talk to me

Have you read Unearthly? Or the rest of the series?? Are you Team Tucker or Team Christian? What are your thoughts on love triangles: yay or nay? Also, does anyone else think that the cover of this book is just fantastically beautiful?! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

9 thoughts on “Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. I LOVE THIS BOOK. AND TUCKER. I really want to insert about forty hearts here, but I’ll restrain myself to just one. ♥

    I was exactly the same way. After my failed attempt at reading Fallen, I just didn’t think angel books were for me. But the Unearthly series? SO WONDERFUL. I love them all, but the first is my favorite. The barn scene? I seriously stopped breathing at one point. Gah! Now I need to re-read…

  2. I’m so glad you loved this one! I just read it a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed it, though I felt like there was something missing to make me love it. But it was my first angel story and BOY was it a good one. Yay for team Tucker, btw ;) I don’t usually like cowboys, but I’ll make an exception for him!

  3. I just decided to check out your blog, and THIS IS ACTUALLY ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOKS. I Reread this and the second one just a few weeks ago. im glad you liked it toooo

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  5. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

