Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

love at first sightTitle/Author: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher/Year: Poppy/Little Brown on January 2, 2012
Genre: YA Romance/Contemporary
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: This is What Happy Looks Like, The Comeback Season, You Are Here and many more!
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

My Thoughts copy

First off, how freakin’ adorable is this cover?! I love the typography and how everything looks hand-drawn and doodled. And even throughout the book I liked the pages with little pinstripes drawn on them before the beginning of each chapter. Now, enought judging a book by its cover!… I don’t know why it took me so long to start this book! I bought it a couple of months back, and I wish I had read it right away! The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith was an enthralling standalone book.

The story focuses on Hadley’s relationship with her father, which has been a little rocky since he left her mother for another woman after moving to England to teach at Oxford.  Hadley is on her way to her father’s marriage, which she is dreading immensely.  The book details many small, insignificant details about her journey to the airport that cause her to be four minutes late, subsequently missing her plane. But wait!!! There is cute British boy Oliver who is going to be on the next plane! I don’t know if any of you have heard of Jack and Finn Harries, two British twins who run a youtube channel, but they are how I picture Oliver! jackfinnThe book follows Hadley and Oliver’s meeting all the way through their flight on the plane, and their cinematic kiss at the airport in England once they’ve landed.  And let me tell you, the entire time that the two of them are together is insanely adorable. But alas, it appears the two teenagers are star-crossed lovers, and who knows if the two of them will ever meet again?!
Final Thoughts

It was nice to read a standalone book that kept me wanting to read through the night! I devoured The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and I wouldn’t have it any other way. If you’re looking for a book that you won’t be able to put down, this is it! This book is a  majorly cute and adorable account of two teenager’s love at first sight which all happens over a span of 24 hours.Favourite Quote

Love is the strangest, most illogical thing in the world.
Talk to me

Have you read this book? Or any other books by Jennifer? What are your thoughts on love at first sight? Also, do you love British boys as much as I do?!?!

7 thoughts on “Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Great review! I keep meaning to pick this book up, especially after reading (and loving) This is What Happy. In fact, I have it lying in my pile of checked-out library books, but my ARCs have been keeping me so busy. I definitely make it a point to pick this one up soon.

    • Thank you!! I still need to read This is What Happy Looks Like, but if it is half as good as this book I will be immensely pleased. But get to this one soon!!!

      P.S. You have a wonderful name ;) I wonder where I’ve heard it before….. ;P

  2. So glad you liked this book! It’s so adorable. I saw This is What Happy Looks Like at the bookstore yesterday after reading & loving Statistical Probability so much, but I held off(my wallet told me to). I’m hoping it’s just as cute as this story though!

  3. Pingback: Review: This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith | books, etc.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  5. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

