Review: Taken by Erin Bowman

takenTitle/Author: Taken by Erin Bowman
Publisher/Year: Harper Teen on April 16, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian/Romance
Series: Yes! Trilogy :)
Other Books by Author: None yet!
How I got this Book: Won via Goodreads First Reads contest!
Summary From Goodreads: There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

My Thoughts copy

I had been waiting to read taken since I first heard about it, and I had high hopes for it, even as a debut novel. And I can tell you with all honesty that my expectations were met! Taken by Erin Bowman was a fantastic debut novel.

Taken is a dystopian novel set in a town called Claysoot, which is surrounded by a large wall. Whenever a boy turns 18, they disappear at midnight. This leaves the town with no men. The people in Claysoot also live very simply, as they do not have any modern technology. But not having modern technology does not necessarily mean that this book takes place in the past…

This book is everything I wished it to be, with a irresistible plot, an intriguing mystery, exciting twists, and the perfect touch of romance!!! Once you read the first chapter – FIRST PAGE – of Taken, you will not be able to put it down! You will be hooked, and the only cure is to finish the book!!

Now a little bit about the romance: It’s a love triangle. But not at first, and it’s not your typical love triangle either. This one has one boy fallen for two girls! Both girls are great choices for Gray, and I actually couldn’t even decide myself which one I would want him to end up with. And that’s saying a lot, because I usually am all for one and none for the other. But not here. Both girls are fantastic, and are interesting to read about.

Finally, I appreciate the fact that Erin took the risk in writing this book from a male point of view, especially for a debut! Now, Erin did a FANTABULOUS job, which not a lot of female writers can do when writing from a male POV. But I feel that Erin got it just right, and captured exactly what Gray would have been thinking and feeling in his day to day life, and even when the adventure really begins! I really loved Gray as the main character. :)

Final Thoughts

Like I said a few times above, Taken was a great debut novel from Erin Bowman, and I can’t wait to read more of her work. I’m especially excited to read the next book in the Taken trilogy, because I need to know what’s going to happen! If you’re looking for a very enjoyable, quick read that you won’t be able to put down, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!!

Talk to me

Have you read Taken? Do you think you will add it to you TBR list? What are your thoughts on female authors writing from a male POV?

8 thoughts on “Review: Taken by Erin Bowman

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me + My Very First Giveaway! | books, etc.

  2. Well, I figured since I entered your giveaway for this book that I should read your review ;). First, congrats on winning it through Goodreads. I swear I enter so many of their giveaways. I can’t help it. I love free books! Second, I’m glad to hear you liked it so much! The cover alone draws me in every time I see it. I like the twist of the love triangle that you mention as well!

    I feel like lately I haven’t been as sucked into a book as I would like to be. It seems to take until the last quarter of a book to get there. But if this one can do it from the first page, then I’m sold! Great review :)

  3. I need to read this! I saw it the other day it chapters and the cover looks so pretty :)
    Its also very interesting to hear that its written from a males POV but I am wary about the love triangle. In so many books lately I did not like the romances in them due to love triangles.
    Great review!

  4. It’s so good to finally read a positive review on this book! I have been a bit overwhelmed by all the negativity and honestly, a bit scared to pick it up. So I’m glad you enjoyed it. I definitely like books written from a male POV because they’re not what I usually read. I’m curious for this one :)

    • You should definitely give this one a read. It wasn’t AMAZING, but I still really enjoyed it! Slightly predictable at times, but I loved the way Erin wrote!! The way she described some things were quite interesting, and I’m excited to see where the sequel is going to take us!

  5. Pingback: Book Review: “Taken” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

