Review: The Host by Stephanie Meyer

hostTitle/Author: The Host by Stephanie Meyer
Publisher/Year: Little Brown and Company on May 6, 2008
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Series: Nope
Other Books by Author: The Twilight Series
How I got this Book: Borrowed from a friend
Summary From Goodreads: Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOST is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.

My Thoughts copy

Why didn’t I read this book sooner?!?! I loved The Host so so sooooo much. My friend and I made plans to see The Host movie, and then on the day we were going to go I realized that I hadn’t read the book yet, and that was a tragedy! I managed to get my hands on a copy of the book, and then I bunkered down and read. And read some more. I think I ate something. And then oh yeah, I read some more. Unfortunately my friend had to cancel on the movie, and I ran out of time to read that day. And then for the rest of the next week it was near impossible for me to find reading time! Finally though, I was able to sit down and finish The Host, and thank god I did!

Stephanie Meyer managed to pull me in to this book immediately with its unique plot. Although the first few chapters are slow to start, I couldn’t put it down on the first day I started it! The world she built for this story was fantastic and definitely creative. I loved reading about all the different worlds that Wanderer/Wanda had lived on, and all the different things she had lived as. There were some really creative stories that were told. She also touches upon the fact that humans aren’t taking care of the planet, are killing it, and therefore don’t deserve it. It’s an accurate message, and it this story was definitely an interesting way to tell it.

Now, on to the characters. Melanie Stryder is a very strong willed human girl whose mind has been taken over by Wanderer, who is part of an alien species who inhabits the bodies of a “host”. Wanderer, whose name is eventually shortened to Wanda is one of the nicest, selfless characters I’ve read about in a long time! I really liked her, and I enjoyed reading about her, but I just couldn’t connect with her. Jared and Ian, both are the love interests in this story, and both are borderline abusive, demanding, and quite controlling. But it definitely is an interesting love triangle. Two people in one body, Melanie in love with Jared, Wanda semi-in love with both Jared AND Ian! This was definitely the cause of some minor conflicts in the book.

Final Thoughts

I really really enjoyed The Host, and I would definitely recommend! I was a fan of the Twilight Series, but this book takes the cake! I also did end up watching the movie after I finished the book, and it was quite good. Yes, there were some minor plot details changed or omitted, but overall it was a fairly good movie! Can we please take a moment to take in the hotness of both Jared and Ian?! (but mostly Jared on the right there…) jared and ianFavourite QuoteIt’s not the face, but the expressions on it. It’s not the voice, but what you say. It’s not how you look in that body, but the thing you do with it. You are beautiful.Talk to me

Have you read The Host? If you have, did you like it more than Twilight? If you haven’t, do you think you might read it? Have you seen the movie? What did you think of it?

10 thoughts on “Review: The Host by Stephanie Meyer

  1. Haven’t had the chance to read this nor watch the movie! But I’ve always wanted to. The premise sounds so good and unique! Glad you enjoyed this! And yes, the hotness!!! Lovely review, my friend!

  2. I read The Host when it first came out, and that was a long long time ago (in my brain at least) that I don’t remember much about it. But I do know that when I finished it I thought I enjoyed it more than Twilight. I still liked Twilight too, The Host just seemed more thought out or something. I know I kept looking forward to the sequel as well, but have since given up on that. I’m not quite sure if I believe Stephenie Meyer will ever get back around to writing.

    I haven’t seen the movie though, and doubt I will. Most reviews on it were disappointing, and the previews didn’t look that exciting to me. Maybe I’ll rent it at some point, just don’t feel like spending that much to watch it otherwise!

    Glad you were happy with both though!

    • Yeah I remember reading that The Host was supposed to be the first in a series, but I doubt that’s going to happen. I agree with you, The Host did seem more thought out than Twilight. But I still like both haha. And yeah, renting the movie sounds like a good plan :)

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: April 26, 2013 – May 2, 2013 | books, etc.

  4. The Host *should* be part of a series. When it first came out, it’s original plan was to be the first in a trilogy (followed by The Soul and The Seeker though I’m not certain of the order). It had been confirmed by Stephenie but as of now is just taking a long time :)

  5. I remember really enjoying The Host when I read it a few years back. I liked it so much more than Twilight. It has originality and a gripping, believable plot line (which I honestly feel the Twilight saga lacked). I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hope to watch it one day soon :)

    Great review.

  6. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

