Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

turth about foreverTitle/Author: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
Publisher/Year: Penguin Group Inc. on May 11, 2004
Genre: YA Romance/Contemporary
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: This Lullaby, Just Listen, and so many more!
How I Got This Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: A long, hot summer…

That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.

But sometimes unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

My Thoughts copy

The Truth About Forever was my first Sarah Dessen novel, and I think I can say with confidence that I have fell in love with this book and Sarah’s writing. All I want to do right now is put my entire TBR list on hold and read everything she has ever written! The Truth About Forever was a spectacular book that focused on Macy and how she spent her summer essentially finding herself and breaking out of the same boring routine she always lived.

Macy was great. She had been through a lot with her dad’s death, and it hurt her even more because she was the one who found him. She mentally beats herself up every day for not being able to stop his death and help him. Macy also has never truly grieved for the loss of her father. She wasn’t able to let herself break down and just cry for ages. After her father’s death, Macy changed. She felt the need to try and be perfect and flawless in everything she did, but perfection is never attainable for her.

Jason was Macy’s boyfriend after everything had happened. And to be frank, I HATED HIM! In my opinion, the way Macy describes him makes him seem like a terrible boyfriend, and I can’t figure out why she ever dated him in the first place! He is ridiculously uptight, and can’t deal with things that aren’t perfect. He’s incredibly smart, but unable to be personable because of it.

Jason heads off to brain camp for the summer, and so Macy takes over his library information desk job while he is away. The two girls that Macy has to work with there are just awful to her. Needless to say, Macy has a terrible time and dreads going to work at the library. Fortunately, she stumbles upon a job at the Wish Catering company, and begins to work with a very quirky and funny bunch of people. There is Kristy with her scars that tell a story, and who dresses in outlandish ways because she figures if people are already staring, why not give them something to look at! Monica, aptly dubbed “Monotone” has a vocabulary that spans about three different two syllable phrases and is more accident prone than me! Delia, the hardworking, pregnant and hormonal caterer who is Aunt to Wes and Bert Baker. Bert, the sweet 16 year old who tries his hardest, and is a strong believer that “the end is near.” And finally Wes, the tortured artist who lost his mother, and who becomes Macy’s unexpected friend throughout the summer.

I loved how Macy and Wes’s relationship developed for the entire length of the book, and because of this they came to know each other incredibly well before anything happens between them. They become such great friends, and each share secrets and thoughts with each other that they never thought they would ever speak aloud. I was rooting for Wes from the get-go, and I’m pleased with how everything turns out between Macy and him, even after a couple of unexpected rough spots.

Final Thoughts

This was such a perfect book, and I can’t help but to rave about it! I basically read the entire thing in one day, with the exception of the first chapter. I can’t believe I’ve waited this long to read something written by Sarah Dessen, because this was definitely one of the best books I’ve read. I can’t wait to read more of Sarah’s writing, starting from the beginning and watching her grow as a writer. This book has most definitely landed Dessen on my auto-buy list, and I will be heading out to get all of her other books, as soon as I am not so broke…
Favourite QuoteIt’s all in the view. That’s what I mean about forever, too. For any one of us our forever could end in an hour, or a hundred years from now. You never know for sure, so you’d better make every second count.

Talk to me

Have you read The Truth About Forever? What did you think of it? Did you hate Jason as much as I did? Have you read anything else by Sarah Dessen? What is your favourite book by her?

15 thoughts on “Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. I’ve been wanting to break away from the dystopian binge I’ve been on lately and read something contemporary – maybe this should be it! I’ve heard good things about Dessen, but I’ve found I just don’t usually enjoy contemporary YA as much as I want to so I haven’t even bothered to give her a try. Terrible, I know. I’ll have to add this to my “to-read” shelf!

  2. I’ve never read anything by Sarah Dessen. She’s one of those authors that I just keep putting off, I’m not even sure why. I like your review, the book sounds great (especially Wes).

  3. I’m just now starting to realize that I really like YA contemporary… and you’ve convinced me that this is one I need to read, lol. Wes sounds awesome, and I am definitely a fan of the well-developed relationships (hooray no insta-love!). Great review, Natalie! :)

  4. Pingback: Friday Flashback: April 26, 2013 – May 2, 2013 | books, etc.

  5. Pingback: Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver | books, etc.

  6. Pingback: Review: That Summer by Sarah Dessen | books, etc.

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  8. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

