Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

This week’s topic is all about those words that you read in a book summary that make you go “OMG give me that book right now, I must read it and I must love it”. AKA topics and things that make you automatically want to buy/read a book. So, in no particular order…

1) Cowboy: If there is a boy in this book that wears plaid shirts, cowboy boots, a cowboy hat, and rides around in a rusty old pickup truck, I WANT IT NOW.

2) Music: If music is involved in the plot even slightly, I know I must read this book. I’ve been a music lover for as long as I can remember, and I always feel that the addition of music to a book makes it just that much more special.

3) Time Travel: Something about time travel is just so interesting to me!

4) Parallel Lives: Again, I don’t know what it is about parallel lives that draws me in, but it just does!

5) Amnesia: Two of my favourite books have something to do with amnesia – Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, and Before I Go to Sleep

6) Foreign Countries: I’m a sucker for a book that takes place somewhere foreign; France, England, Italy… <3

7) Heaven: If any book has something similar to Gabrielle Zevin’s Elsewhere, count me in!

8) Reincarnation: Especially if it is as well done as it is in My Name is Memory.

9) Falling for an older guy: Don’t know why, I just love it. Maybe because I have a tendency to do so? IDK

10) Princesses: As cheesy as it sounds, I don’t know if I will ever love something as much as I loved the princess diaries series when I was younger.

Also, because I deemed this appropriate: want it now

What are your trigger words/themes? Are any of mine the same as yours? Do any of mine make you NOT want to read a book that revolves around it? Talk to me :)

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

  1. Amnesia books are super interesting! I especially like when it’s amnesia as a result of PTSD because I think it’s fascinating what the human mind does to protect itself. I love princess books too. I always dreamed I was Mia when I was younger lol.

    • Me too! I always thought about how cool it would be to suddenly find out you were the princess of a faraway land. And yes! The human mind is very interesting, I actually can’t wait to take psych for the first time next year! :)

  2. Cowboys ooh, I’d like to read such books. Suggest one maybe? And I love amnesiac books! Before I Go to Sleep was so awesome and I haven’t read a lot of time travel books but I’d love to. You gotta read Pivot Point, I loved the parallel lives concept in it and yes for music books.

    Falling for an older guy books sound pretty interesting! I don’t know about heaven but I loved If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern and it had a fairy tale-ish and magical feel to it. And I totally read a lot of Princess Diaries, too!

    Great list, Natalie! =D

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post.

    Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile

    • I haven’t gotten around to reading Pivot Point yet, but it’s on my list! And I’m adding If You Could See Me Now to it as well. As for a book with a cowboy, the one that come to mind right now is Unearthly. If you haven’t read that, get on it!!! Tucker is awesome 😍

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: April 26, 2013 – May 2, 2013 | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

