Friday Flashback: April 26, 2013 – May 2, 2013

friday flashback

Today is my first ever Friday Flashback, a post where I will essentially just re-hash the events of my week, bookish and otherwise. I hope you enjoy!

what i read

I finished reading The Host by Stephanie Meyer, and I also watched the movie! From there, I went on to read The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. It was my first Sarah Dessen book, and honestly, I fell in love. After that, I started Clockwork Angel, which I am still reading! (more specifically, am reading while I write this post. most likely I will have finished the book by the time this has posted!)

I also got a few books this week too! I picked up Keep Sweet by Michele Dominguez Greene, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, Looking for Alaska by John Green, This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith, Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham, and The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. I also received a copy of Angelfall by Susan Ee, courtesy of Octavia from Read Sleep Repeat! Thanks Octavia! Lastly, I was approved by NetGalley for Dare You To by Katie McGarry!

what i did

indigoOn Friday I interviewed for a job at Indigo, which is a Canadian bookstore chain. They have everything in there, including a large music section, and loads of cute notebooks and knick-knacks! I have a good feeling about how the interview went, but I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much. I found out today (Friday) whether I got the job or not, so keep your fingers crossed for me!

the big weddingLast Friday I also went to the movies with two of my friends and we saw The Big Wedding. It thought it was a pretty good movie myself, and the end of it had a very Crazy Stupid Love feel to it. Which is good, because that is one of my favourite movies! It was a very funny chick flick with the perfect amount of drama, and it had Amanda Seyfried in it who is one of my favourite actresses. Not to mention the movie also starred Topher Grace and Ben Barnes, two unbelievably gorgeous guys ;) That only made it better!

the lumineers

On Tuesday, I was lucky enough to score tickets to see The Lumineers at Copps Coliseum in Hamilton! This concert was faaaaaantastic! The Lumineers are an acoustic folk band, and if you don’t know them you NEED to look them up! One of their singles is Ho Hey, and I know it’s a pretty popular one, so YOUTUBE IT! Anyways, this band sounds exactly like their recordings, and just were oh so good!!!

what i heard

This week I listened to a lot of the Lumineers leading up to the concert. Here are some of my faves of theirs!



I also rediscovered by love of Mumford and Sons song After the Storm. I love this song, and one specific line I LOVE is “With grace in your heart, and flowers in your hair.”

Needless to say, I was definitely on an acoustic folk music kick this week!
what i liked

This is the section of the post where I share the best things I found on the internet this week!

Alexa’s post regarding her post regarding her series binge reading habits. (It was also very cleverly named!)

Betty’s HILARIOUS post about her experience with live help.

Magan’s review of The Originals by Cat Patrick.

Brittany’s awesome rant on DNF books and reviews.

BONUS: Zac Efron in a tiny white t-shirt!!!! (click the picture for the link to the post from BuzzFeed)

zac efron tiny shirt
what i posted

My review of The Host by Stephanie Meyer.

My review of The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.

Top Ten Tuesday: Words That Make me Buy a Book

Waiting on Wednesday: How to Love by Katie Cotugno

So tell me, did you do anything exciting this week? What did you read? What did you listen to? I’m all ears :)

10 thoughts on “Friday Flashback: April 26, 2013 – May 2, 2013

  1. Good luck on your job interview! Sounds like a great place to work, though I’d worry I wouldn’t make any money because I’d be so tempted to spend it all while there! Oh, and I haven’t heard much of The Lumineers (except Ho Hey) but they sound like a great band and I’m sure the concert was awesome!

    I love that you’re doing this little feature! Always nice to get a recap on what happened the past week, get introduced to some posts I might’ve missed, and learn more about the person behind the blog!

Leave a Reply

