Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

imageTitle/Author: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham (Yes, THAT Lauren Graham!)
Publisher/Year: Balantine Books on April 30, 2013
Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Chick-Lit
Series: Nope! (possible companion novel to come)
Other Books by Author: None yet!
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates-Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material-and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.

My Thoughts copy

This book was one of my most anticipated reads this year! Although I was a little skeptical going into it, what with the author being an actor and all, this book was awesome! I absolutely adore Lauren Graham, and I have ever since I started watching Gilmore Girls a loooooong time ago. When I found out she was releasing a book I was really excited! Having finally read Someday, Someday, Maybe I can tell you I was not disappointed. It was laugh out loud funny, and I haven’t read a truly funny book in quite a long time.

First things first: I loved the cover! The picture was really cute and I love how she’s on the Brooklyn Bridge. Secondly, I loved the font too. I’m one of those weird people who actually have font preferences in books, and this one passed the test! Okay, now onto to some of the more serious stuff (but not really serious, because let’s be honest, it’s a hilarious book.) The book is laced with calendar pages from Franny’s Filofax, full of work shifts, little notes, doodles, and the occasional acting related appointment. I really enjoyed that these were added because it’s a personal touch that allows you to see more about what Franny is thinking at times and how she feels about some of the things she does in her day to day life.

Plot-wise, the book was kind of lacking. Not a whoooole lot of anything happens, but it’s enough to keep you interested! What really kept me reading was just how funny Franny was, and I always was interested to hear what witty and sarcastic comments she would make, or to read one of her tangents she trails into quite often.

Franny herself was a great character, and I found the development of her character to be very well done. At the beginning of the book, I guess you could say she was almost a being a little immature in her approach to acting. But by the end of the book, Franny had figured out what acting is really all about, and had figured out what it meant to her. Franny also had the best support group, consisting of her two roommates Jane and Dan. Although we never spend a whole lot of time with either Jane or Dan, I really appreciated their presence in the story! Jane was such an amazing friend to Franny, and Dan – although he was quiet and kept to himself a bit – was such a good person for Franny to have in her life. Another one of my favourite supporting characters was Franny’s dad. He didn’t have a very big part to play at all, and most of his dialogue was found in the messages he would leave on her answering machine. But, those messages were so funny! His understanding of acting and auditions and how everything works was so naive, that it was funny!

Lastly, even though I don’t want to say too much about the romance(s) in the book, I just want to say that in a way there is a bit of a love triangle, that Franny doesn’t realize she is in until much later in the story. I really enjoyed that there were romances present in Franny’s story, but that they didn’t overpower the true point of the story, which is Franny’s journey of self-discovery and becoming a “real actress.”
Final Thoughts

This book was a light but hilarious read, and was almost reminiscent of a “coming-of-age” story, except for adults. Favourite Quote

Maybe I should sit. Plenty of people use sitting as a way to pass the time.Talk to me

Have you read Someday, Someday, Maybe yet? Were you skeptical like I was because it was a book written by and actress, maybe even your FAVOURITE actress?? Are you as big of a Gilmore Girls fan as I am? Why do you love it so much? :)

10 thoughts on “Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. You know, I’ve been thinking about why I didn’t LOOOVE this book and I think your plot comment is what was niggling me. I liked the book, really liked it, but there was just something about it that was hard for me to reconcile and I think it was that there really wasn’t much happening. My mind feels better now, thank you.
    I’ve been a GG fan since the show started. I take personal pride in the fact that I NEVER missed an episode. This is particularly awesome as I was in university during the last two years of the show (and watching on the web was not as easy nor did we have those fancy PVR things that are available now…hell, I still don’t have one, lol) and when you’re in university your schedule is out of whack and you don’t always get to watch your shows. I keep meaning to go back and watch all my DVDs but new shows keep grabbing my interest :)
    Lovely review!

  2. I was really skeptical of this book as well(because, let’s be honest, the universe is normally nice enough to not to make people outstandingly talented in one area like acting talented in another, like writing. Except in this case, which I liked). I read an e-arc of this book from netgalley, but now that you mentioned the font I really want to look at a finish copy because I also really notice font in books(it’s probably one of the first things I notice, along with the paper weight). I was really pleasantly surprised by this book overall.

  3. I never really watched The Gilmore Girls when I was younger but I have been hearing so many great things about this book I think I have to check it out!

  4. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 3, 2013 – May 16, 2013 | books, etc.

  5. Pingback: Book and a Beverage: Natalie from Books, Etc.

  6. I loved this book so much! I felt an instant connection to Franny, making her way to become an actress. The way Lauren wrote the book is just amazing. I’m kind of sad at the moment that I finished the book. Could you recommend me any books that are similar to this one?
    You really did a great job on the review!

  7. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

