Nourishing Natalie: Fresh Quinoa Veggie Salad

nourishing natalieI have always wanted to learn how to cook, and since I am coming close to leaving home soon and going to university, I will need to know how to cook for myself! So, in this new, sporadic feature for my blog, I will do just that. I, Natalie, will attempt to nourish myself by (attempting) to cook yummy, (mostly) healthy food. I hope you enjoy reading about (and seeing) my kitchen capers!

The first recipe I am making for this feature is a Canadian Living recipe for Fresh Quinoa Veggie Salad, and I found a link for it here (although it is not from the Canadian Living site, but is the exact same recipe.)

I really like quinoa, and I always buy the quinoa salad that the grocery store I work at serves at the salad bar. But, it gets a little expensive since that goes by weight. I thought it would be nice to try and make my own version of a quinoa veggie salad! I wasn’t certain how it was going to turn out, since it was my first time cooking quinoa. I’ve heard that if you don’t rinse it enough, it can taste bitter, so mostly that’s what I was worried was going to happen. Fortunately, my quinoa veggie salad turned out very well, and was a huge hit with  my family and family friends! Here are some photos of the progress of my salad :)

nourishing natalie 1

All in all I’m really pleased with how this salad turned out! It came out a lot better than I was expecting, and I would definitely make it again. I recommend this recipe!

5 thoughts on “Nourishing Natalie: Fresh Quinoa Veggie Salad

  1. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 17, 2013 – May 23, 2013 | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

