Friday Flashback: May 17, 2013 – May 23, 2013

friday flashback

Friday Flashback is a post where I essentially just re-hash the events of my week, bookish and otherwise. I hope you enjoy!

what i read

I didn’t have too much time to read this week, so I only made it through two books. I read Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and I honestly fell in love with it. My review will be coming soon! After that, I read The Vincent Boys, which I am finishing right after I finish writing this post. I can tell you that at this point, I’m pretty much just making myself finish this book. There are some okay parts to it, and I’m slightly interested to see what happens, but there’s practically no story at all! And it’s soooo repetitive. It just needs to end already.

As for books I bought this week, I got my second Sarah Dessen book, That Summer, as I intend to now read all of her books in the order they were published. This suggestion was given to me by Sarah! I also managed to pick up two other books this week for only two (that’s right, 2!!!) dollars each!!! I got Insatiable by Meg Cabot, and Steven Tyler’s memoir called Does the Noise Inside my Head Bother You?

what i did

This past week was really busy for me! Last friday night I went over to my friend Stephanie’s house with two of my other girlfriends, and we watched The Ugly Truth. That movie is probably one of my favourite romantic comedies ever! It’s just so good! If you haven’t seen it, you must watch it!!!!

Saturday night I went to my friend Matt’s house for a bit of a small long weekend get together. Not too much exciting happened there, but I got to see some friends I haven’t seen for a little while, so that was nice! We also finalized some plans to go away to a friend’s cottage next weekend with a bunch of people, so I’m looking forward to that! Reading books on a dock, or on the beach, with an adult beverage nearby… It’s going to be awesome!! :D

Sunday my one of my very best friends Matt came over (different Matt than above. FUN FACT: I know so many people named Matt it’s actually ridiculous!!!) Since it was so nice out we had a really nice time laying out by my pool and tanning while reading our books and chatting about the current gossip in our group of friends, and we went swimming too! I love having a friend that loves to read as much as I do, and doesn’t mind coming over to “hang out” and end up just reading for a little while!

On Monday, it was Victoria Day in Canada. That means a day off of work YAY!!!! I found very last minute that one of my favourite bands was going to be playing a free – that’s right everyone, FREE – concert in Toronto on Victoria Day!!! So, on Monday morning I hopped on the train with a friend to meet up with another friend already in Toronto to see Lady Antebellum perform a free concert!!!! It was so amazing, and they are fantastic live. They sound just like their recording. Here are some pictures I took of the concert:

lady a 2

Look at how pretty Charles Kelly is <3

lady a 1

Hillary is due to have her baby in June and is still performing!!!

Tuesday night I went to my friend Brittany’s house with 4 other girls and we had ourselves a fun little girls night in! We drank some wine, gossiped, watched Bridesmaids, and just had an altogether really fun night!

Yesterday I participated in my first Inside Ride. Inside Ride is a charity that works to raise money for children with cancer, or who are trying to regain their old life once they have received their treatment. Basically, the participants find people to sponsor them to ride a stationary bike for ten minutes, on a team with five other people who will also ride the bike for 10 minutes each. There are prizes for the team that clocks the most kilometres on their bike, the team with the best costumes, and the team with the most spirit! Oh yeah, your team has to come up with a theme and dress accordingly too! It’s so much fun! I entered the Inside Ride with a team from the grocery store that I work at. Our theme was Alice in Wonderland, and we seriously went all out! I was dressed as the Queen of Hearts, and we had an Alice, a Mad Hatter, and a Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum! We also had a bunch of props set up on and around our bike to create “Wonderland.” Here are some photos that my friend Allie over at Allison Howard Photography took:

AH_InsideRide2013-1

Our whole team all dressed up!

AH_InsideRide2013-3

Me as the Queen of Hearts! I’m so squinty because it was pretty bright out….

AH_InsideRide2013-6

One half of our display.

AH_InsideRide2013-7

The other side of it!

Oh! And on the way home from the Inside Ride today, I also spontaneously got my cartilage pierced!! YAY! :D

what i heard

I listened to a lot of Lady Antebellum leading up to their concert, and didn’t listen to anything else! I had their first two album’s on repeat, and was listening a lot to their newest single, Downtown.

what i liked

Jamie’s post about cringe-worthy book and reading habits. I do every one of these things except for dog-ear my pages. But I even do that when I don’t have a bookmark handy!

This hilarious book workout from EpicReads!

A recipe for Butterbeer Cupcakes that Elena shared! I will most definitely be making these for my HP marathon I am having with two of my friends on Monday :D

Betty’s post about her strange bacon-eating habits.

what i posted

My review of This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith.

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Book Covers, where it becomes apparent that I like starry skies and cute typography titles.

Waiting on Wednesday: The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle.

The first post for my new cooking feature, Nourishing Natalie. I made fresh quinoa veggie salad, and was quite pleased with the results!!!

So tell me, did you do anything exciting this week? What did you read? What did you listen to? Anything on the internet this week that I should check out??? I’m all ears :)

2 thoughts on “Friday Flashback: May 17, 2013 – May 23, 2013

  1. Wow!! Look like you had a great week. I’m glad you liked Delirium and I can’t wait to read your review of it. I want to read it so much but I’ve accidentally read a terrible spoiler from the second book that is stopping me from starting the series…
    I’m a new Bloglovin follower!! I love your blog <3

    My FF

    Sapir @ Diary of a Wimpy Teen Girl 

Leave a Reply

