Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

before I fallTitle/Author: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Publisher/Year: HarperCollins on October 25, 2011
Genre: YA Contemporary/Fantasy
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: Delirium Trilogy
How I got this Book: Borrowed from a friend
Summary From Goodreads: What if you only had one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death–and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

My Thoughts copy

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver was one of the best contemporary books I’ve read in quite a long time. It was able to blend the genre of contemporary with just a little bit of fantasy, and Lauren did it amazingly! This was the first Lauren Oliver book that I have read, but I had heard so many great things about her and her books so I was ready to jump right in! Honestly, I loved this book. It makes you think a lot about life and how you live it and how little things that seem mundane could be seriously affecting other people’s lives. I was extremely close to tears every time I picked up this book to read because of how emotional it was.

When I first picked up this book, I was shocked to find out that Sam and her group of girlfriends were so unbelievably unlikeable. To be quite frank, they were all b*tches. They were the stereotypically “popular” girls who were mean to other people, got drunk all the time, dressed and acted kind of slutty, and were obsessed with getting Sam to lose her virginity to her so-called perfect boyfriend Rob. Now, don’t even get me started on Rob. He was literally the worst boyfriend in the history of boyfriends, even worse than Jason from The Truth About Forever. Rob was altogether just a mean person to Sam, and didn’t really care about her all too much.

Very early on in the story, Sam ends up dying in a car crash. But, the next morning she wakes up and gets to live her last day over again. And then it happens the next day too. It takes her a little while to catch on that she will be reliving this day for quite a while. But what Sam does notice is that she doesn’t have to live each day exactly the same. Her actions, words, and feelings can be different.

Throughout the week that Sam relives her last day on Earth, she gets to realize just how messed up she and her friends were. She can’t believe how awful they were to other people, and is only just now noticing the effect that their actions had on other people. Sam and her friends had made life a living hell for more than one person, and she can’t stand that she ever was the cause of someone else’s hurt.

There’s also another bit to this story. There’s a boy, Kent, who Sam used to be friends with a long time ago in elementary school, and who stood up for her when she wasn’t one of the popular girls. But of course, throughout the rest of their elementary and high school years, things changed. Sam became popular and forgot about Kent, brushing him off without a second thought. She only notices how much Kent means to her after she dies, which is quite unfortunate. Anyways, you’ll have to read the book if you want to see what Sam does with that!

Final Thoughts

Before I Fall was fantastic, and it made me so eager to read Lauren’s Delirium trilogy! If you haven’t read Before I Fall, you seriously need to drop whatever you are currently doing and MAKE IT HAPPEN! You will be forced to thing about your life and your actions and the decisions you make every day when you read this book, and I’ll be shocked if it doesn’t make a difference in the way you live your life.
Favourite Quote

I suppose that’s the secret for if you’re ever wishing for things to go back to the way they were. You just have to look up.
Talk to me

Have you read Before I Fall? What about anything else by Lauren Oliver? Did this book make you think about life as much as it made me think? Do you like really life-changing books like this one?

14 thoughts on “Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

  1. Omgg! You loved this too! I’m so glad. It’s one of my favorites. And you better read the Delirium series!!! And her other books as well! Yes, I like books like this one. Makes me think a lot about life in a lot of ways.

  2. I love this book! I read Delirium before I read Before I Fall, so I was curious to see if I would like Lauren Oliver’s contemporary as much as I like her Dystopia, and I think I like it even more. It’s just one of THOSE special books to me.

  3. So glad you liked this one so much!! I had a really nice overall opinion of it, but the whole popular-bitchy thing totally took away from the story for me. I’m not sure why, but I just don’t like the popular girls in books haha. I never had an actual problem with it in high school but for some reason it really annoys me in YA. *shrugs* Who knows!
    Anyway, I really loved how the story was laid out and I felt like end was kind of sudden considering we saw it coming (or not) the whole book BUT I actually really liked the ending.
    Great review! So glad to hear you loved it! I can’t for you to read Delirium and see what you think of it :D

    • I know what you mean about the popular/bitchy thing. Like you, I didn’t have a problem with it in high school, and while I was reading I even wondered if there are actually schools out there where the problem is that terrible. Because to be honest, my school wasn’t cliquey at all, and the very small amount of “popular kids” were really nice to everyone :P

    • I know what you mean about the popular/bitchy thing. Like you, I didn’t have a problem with it in high school, and while I was reading I even wondered if there are actually schools out there where the problem is that terrible. Because to be honest, my school wasn’t cliquey at all, and the very small amount of “popular kids” were really nice to everyone :P

  4. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 24, 2013 – May 30, 2013 | books, etc.

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  6. I loved Before I Fall and I totally agree with you on how vindictive her friends are. I also reviewed the book on my blog so if you want to check it out, look up Bookworm Paparazzi Girl’s World.

  7. Pingback: ARC Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

