Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

deliriumTitle/Author: Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Publisher/Year: HarperCollins on February 1, 2011
Genre: YA Science Fiction/Dystopian
Series: Yes! Trilogy
Other Books by Author: Pandemonium (Deliruim #2), Reqiuem (Delirium #3), Before I Fall
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever.

And I’ve always believed them.

Until now.

Now everything has changed.

Now, I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, when she falls in love.

My Thoughts copy

Let me start off by saying, WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS TWO YEARS AGO WHEN IT CAME OUT??!?!?! OK, now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, let the review begin. If you couldn’t already tell from the opening sentence, I loved LOVED this book! I was a little nervous going into Delirium because of how much it had been hyped up, and because of how much I loved Before I Fall and I didn’t want Lauren Oliver to let me down. I was not let down, nor was I prepared for how beautifully heart-wrenching this story would be.

Delirium takes place in The United States in an alternative present when love is considered a disease – amor deliria nervosa. First off, that’t the first thing that got me hooked. How could anyone ever imagine a world without love, let alone live in one where it was considered a disease that everyone is “cured” from at the age of 18?! I do not think I could survive in this place with no love.

Lena, the main character, has had a troubled childhood. Her mother committed suicide after failing to be cured 3 times, in the name of love. Lena remembers all the fun and laughter and things from her childhood that she now knows were not permitted, and she remembers enjoying all of those things. She is excited to receive the cure though, because she does not want to end up like her mother, and because it is what is expected of her. She wanted to get the cure — until she met Alex.

Alex is a beautiful boy with eyes the colour of amber and hair the colour of the autumn leaves, and he shows Lena all about love. Lena wishes she could deny that she feels anything for Alex, because of how dangerous the amor deliria nervosa is, but she cannot. Alex has shown her how dismantled and corrupt society is, and she has fallen in love with him and with the thoughts of what society could be like.

Lena is also best friends with a rebellious girl named Hana. Their friendship is amazing, and is as true to life as any teenage best friend relationship could be. They have each other’s backs at all cost. I loved Hana and Lena’s friendship, and I also loved Lena as a character herself. I really connected with her, what with wanting to always do the right thing, but sometimes wishing you could just break free and live a little.

I am warning you now – although it is impossible to be prepared – the ending of this book is a MAJOR cliff-hanger! I thought I was prepared for it, but no. Just, no. The ending will break you right in two. BUT, there are two more books that come after this one!!!

Final Thoughts

I read this book about a month ago, and yet I only posted my review now! That just goes to show you how much I LEGITIMATELY LOVED this book, because I couldn’t even find the words to express myself in a review! And personally, I still don’t think I even came close to doing the book justice in this review. Anywho0000, I can’t wait to get my hands on Pandemonium to read it! Favourite Quote

Love: a single word, a wispy thing, a word no bigger or longer than an edge. That’s what it is: an edge; a razor. It draws up through the center of your life, cutting everything in two. Before and after. The rest of the world falls away on either side.Talk to me

Have you read Delirium? Did you love it as much as I did? If you haven’t read it, do you think you might? (I really really think you should ;) )

20 thoughts on “Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. OMG yayyyyy!!!! This is seriously one of my favorite books. The rest of the series wasn’t as good for me because I was just so spoiled by the first book — But they’re still both really good reads IMO :) This book was just so beautiful and an amazing way to kick off the trilogy. I hope you enjoy the rest of them!

  2. Ooh glad you loved it :D I didn’t love it, but thought it was really good. That ending WAS really a mean cliff hanger :( I have Pandemonium on my shelf right now, but I have so many books to read before I could start it!

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 31, 2013 – June 13, 2013 | books, etc.

  4. Pingback: The Delirium Trilogy – Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem | What Raina Reads

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  6. Pingback: Sporadic Reads | 48. Alex (Delirium) by Lauren Oliver

  7. Pingback: Book Review : 48. Alex (Delirium) by Lauren Oliver | Sporadic Reads

  8. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

  9. Pingback: ARC Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

