Waiting on Wednesday: Contaminated by Em Garner

waitingonwednesday“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights one book that we are super excited about being released!

contaminatedContaminated by Em Garner

Egmont USA
Expected July 23, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

After the Contamination—an epidemic caused by the super-trendy diet drink SlimPro that turned ordinary citizens into violent, uncontrollable creatures—the government rounded up the “Connies” to protect the remaining population. Now, two years later, the rehabilitated are being allowed home, complete with shock collars that will either control, or kill, them.

Velvet Ellis has struggled to care for her ten-year-old sister since her parents were taken in the round up. When she finds her mother in one of the “Kennels,” Velvet resolves to do whatever it takes to put her family back together. But the danger isn’t over. It’s beginning all over again…

Gritty and grabbing, Contaminated is a harrowing, emotionally charged novel for fans of Carrie Ryan and The Walking Dead.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is something in the description of this book that just grabs me. I’m a big fan of books and movies with epidemics, because I feel like they’re always so exciting! This dystopian book sounds like it’s going to offer something a bit different to the table too, which I like.

Advertisements

24 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Contaminated by Em Garner

  1. Your right. It does sound different, especially the part where they are letting the “Connies” as the book blurb called them, which sound like zombies creatures to me, back into the community and homes. I’m am very interested in seeing how the book pans out. Thanks for the share. I will be adding it to my reading wishlist. Natasha’s (Intertwined Blog) Waiting on Wednesday Post –> http://goo.gl/xELQS

  2. Wow, thank you for the mention! Everyone, the Connies ARE “zombie” like creatures, yep, but they’re not…quite…zombies. I hope everyone who gives it a try likes it. :) Anyone interested in a bookmark? email me!

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 31, 2013 – June 13, 2013 | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s