Gayle Forman Read Along: Sisters in Sanity – Week 1

gayle forman readalong

Hey everyone!! I’m participating in the Gayle Forman Read Along organized by the ever so wonderful Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide! The first book we are reading is Gayle’s debut novel, Sisters in Sanity, and this book is being hosted by the amazing Judith at Paper Riot! This post contains by answers for the first week’s reading section, chapters 1-7.

1. What is your first impression of Brit? Do you like her as a character? And do you think she really has ODD, or is she just a teenager?

I like Brit. I think that she is an interesting character who has had what sounds like a very interesting and colourful childhood. She has had to deal with a lot of things that I could never in my wildest dreams imagine dealing with, and yet despite this, I feel I am still able to connect with her. We know her true thoughts and feelings from the very moment this book begins, and I think that was a wise move on Gayle’s part, to open up her character so fully from the start. Now, about the ODD?? That diagnosis is such BS! The description of that “disorder” is called BEING A TEENAGER! I know, I still am one!!! Sure, Brit might have that, but so do 90% of all teenagers on earth!!! I really hope that ODD is not an actual thing….

2. What is your first impression of the other girls? (V, Bebe, Martha, Cassie) Do you like them? Do you think they can be trusted? Who is your favorite?

I really like V. I think that she is really and truly going to be one of Brit’s friends at Red Rock and will help her find her way out of that god awful place. If she doesn’t and ends up being a terrible backstabber I am going to be furious!!! V is definitely my favourite of the girls so far. Bebe seems like your typical rich California type girl, but she’s probably not as shallow as she seems. We don’t know too much about Martha so far, but Red Rock seems like an awful place to send someone to get skinny. Personally, I think that Martha knows what’s wrong and how to change it, and just needs the courage to do it, but she will find that courage on her own and not at Red Rock. And Cassie seems pretty funny, but we don’t know much about her yet either!

3. We get a first glimpse of how things are handled at the Red Rock. How do you feel about this so far? Do you think the way things are handled is okay?

GOD NO!!! The way things are handled at Red Rock are disgusting and are NOT OKAY. I can’t even begin to think about what being there would be like. This place practically forces girls to name call until they cry and then that is considered “treatment.” This place needs to be shut down, because by the sounds of it girls must be leaving this place in worse shape than they showed up in!

4. What do you think about the story of Brit’s parents? Do you think this has anything to do with the way Brit acts now?

Brit definitely had an interesting yet troubled childhood. To see your own mother descend into a disorder as complicated and scary as schizophrenia must have been terribly hard to bear, and then to have your father re-marry a woman who completely changes him and turns your life into a living hell would have to be just that – HELL. I think that it might have something to do with the way she acts, but in all honesty I think she just enjoys being in a band and being sarcastic to see what kind of reactions people give her.

5. What is your first impression of Sisters In Sanity after the first 7 chapters? Are you enjoying it? Is this your first Gayle Forman book?

I am loving Sisters in Sanity! I don’t know if I’ll be able to drag out the reading for an entire month though! It’s so good, and I borrowed it from the library so that has a little bit to do with it :P Can’t wait to see what’s going to happen next!!!

7 thoughts on “Gayle Forman Read Along: Sisters in Sanity – Week 1

  1. I am so with you about V! I don’t know if we can trust her yet! And yeah, total BS on ODD! Also, it is definitely hard keeping it to 7 chapters a week! I have other books I’m reading at the same time so that makes it a little better.

  2. Loving this so far!
    I totally agree — I love Brit and she’s just had some hard things to deal with!! Everything is getting blown way out of proportion. The poor girl.
    V is my favorite too :) She seems like she’s trying to help Brit so far so I’m interested to see how their friendship develops!

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: June 14, 2013 – June 27, 2013 | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

