Friday Flashback: June 14, 2013 – June 27, 2013

friday flashback

Friday Flashback is a post where I essentially just re-hash the events of my week (or two weeks in this particular case), bookish and otherwise. I hope you enjoy!

what i read

It’s pretty sad, but I only read two books in these past two weeks – I was kind of in a bit of a reading slump :( I read If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch and LOVED IT, and I just finished Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith which was really good too!

In the way of books I got this week, I picked up Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo, Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne, and Unremembered by Jessica Brody, all for the Fierce Reads tour! :D
what i did

On Friday, June 14, I went to the Taylor Swift concert in Toronto with my friend Lara, and we had an amazing time! The concert was literally so fantastic, which I did not expect. We had got free tickets from Lara’s uncle, and so we decided we would go because WHO PASSES UP FREE TAYLOR SWIFT TICKETS! Anywhoooo, I’d seen Taylor perform live on award shows in the past, and I wasn’t wowed. But at this concert?! OMG. She was flippin’ amazing! And Ed Sheeran, one of her opening acts was absolutely to die for. He puts on a really good show for being up on stage all by himself.

photo-2 photo-1

The picture of us together isn’t very good – we had a security guard take it for us and I don’t think he understood iPhones…. Oh well. And also… I’ll give you a fair warning, but the picture below is not as it seems! As amazing as it would have been to actually meet Taylor Swift, the person in the picture below is her body double. But we did sneak past security to get our picture taken with her! hahaha

photo-3

The weekend I saw Taylor Swift was also the weekend that my city hosts it’s annual Sound of Music Festival where Canadian bands from across the country come and play outdoor shows at a park right down on Lake Ontario! I went to see Small Town Pistols play on Saturday, and they were so good! They were really friendly too :)

photo-4

Last Wednesday I went to the Fierce Reads tour with my friend Yasmine from over at The Yasmine Public Library. This was my first signing, and it was so much fun! The authors were all great and I loved hearing them talk. Even before the even had started, we were wandering around upstairs at Indigo Yorkdale, and JESSICA BRODY CAME UP TO ME and introduced herself. She asked us if we were attending the event, and when we said yes proceeded to hand me a banana and asked me to assist her in pranking Leigh Bardugo during the signing part of the event! The long and short of it is that I had to give Leigh the banana when I got my book signed, and give her no explanation about it whatsoever. It was a bananagra – SO WEIRD! Anyways, it was amazing getting to meet Jessica Brody, Emmy Laybourne, Leigh Bardugo, Gennifer Goodwin, and Anna Banks, and getting all my books signed was fun!

photo-5 photo-6photo-7

what i heard

After hearing Ed Sheeran live at the Taylor Swift concert, I have been listening to his music non-stop. Mostly these two songs:


what i posted

Review: That Summer by Sarah Dessen

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Summer TBR list

Gayle Forman Read Along Week One

Waiting on Wednesday: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Review: Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Books of 2013 (so far)

Gayle Forman Read Along Week Two

Debut-a-thon Reading Goals

2 thoughts on “Friday Flashback: June 14, 2013 – June 27, 2013

  1. OH wow, so many awesome things for you this week!!! That’s so cool that you got to meet Taylor Swift!
    The bananagram!! I’m not sure if that originated at my bookstore…? There’s a book right by where all the signings are that’s “Bananagrams” so that MIGHT be how it started?? (I stare at it every time I’m in line for a signing!) I don’t want to assume though :) How very funny they had you help prank Leigh! I love it. They’re so much fun! I was bummed they weren’t in the Midwest this year but I’ve loved seeing everyone’s recap posts!!!

Leave a Reply

