Top Five Best Movie Adaptations + Five I’m Anticipating!

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is supposed to be about the best and/or worst movie adaptations you have ever seen. I can’t seem to remember too many movie adaptations of YA books that I have seen, and so I have decided to name the top five only, and then finish with five books that are being made into movies that I’m really excited about! So, in no particular order… (click the book name to go to goodreads and the movie poster to go to IMDB)

best movie adaptations

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (the whole series)

harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-part-2

I love them. I just love them all. I love Dan, and Rupert, and Emma, and Tom, and Bonnie, and Evanna, and OMG I just love every little bit of the books and movies!!!!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

hunger-games-movie

I actually thought that The Hunger games was a pretty good representation of the book. I mean, I really don’t think that any movie will be able to perfectly represent the book, but I thoroughly enjoyed The Hunger Games movie!

Holes by Louis Sachar

holes_dvd_cover

This book and movie was one of my favourites as a kid! I could watch it over and over again. In fact, I might just have to watch it again really soon!

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride and prejudice movie

Pride and Prejudice is probably one of my most favourite movies ever. Especially this Kiera Knightly version.

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares

sisterhood of the travelling pants movie

I don’t think this movie actually does the best job of adapting the book to the screen, but I still love it. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen this one, so I think it’s time for a re-watch!

movie adaptations im waiting for

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

catching fire movie

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city of bones movie

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

maze runner movies

Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent movie

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

delirium 2

YEAH! Apparently a Delirium is rumoured to be in the works! YAY!!!!

So tell me:  Have you seen all of these movie adaptations?? What ones are you looking forward to most? I WANT TO KNOW!

27 thoughts on “Top Five Best Movie Adaptations + Five I’m Anticipating!

  1. The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, and Pride & Prejudice YES YES YES. :) Although I have an issue with Harry Potter, as you’ll see in my post :P *don’thateme*

    Delirium was actually going to be a TV show from FOX, but they decided to pass on it. So unless that’s changed and I’m totally out of the loop, that’s not going to be adapted (at least not in the near future). But can’t wait for Catching Fire!! And… I guess, Divergent. I dunno.

  2. Harry Potter and The Hunger Games are two of my favorite book to movie adaptations. And of course, most Pride and Prejudice adaptations are fantastic.

    Wait, Delirium was supposed to be adapted to a television series by FOX, but got dropped. Is there an actual film in the works or is that what you’re referencing (because that show isn’t happening anymore :/ )?

    • I was unaware of the possible TV show adaption, so upon that realization, I suppose that is what I am referencing. There won’t be a movie any time soon then :(

  3. I like how you divided your list! Delirium was rejected by FOX and last I heard there was a push to get FOX to reconsider but there’s no go since only the pilot was filmed.

  4. HP & THG, of course <3 I really liked The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants too! I didn't like Blake Lively (actually, I don't like her in anything haha) but I think she did a good job with the character, for the most part.
    I'm super curious about Divergent and especially The Maze Runner! I'm interested to see how that works on screen.
    SCARED for Delirium. I feel like that will destroy the books for me.

    • Yeah I’m not really a fan of Blake Lively either… but she’s really pretty! :P And as for Delirium, IF it ever happens, I’m more curious thatn excited for it haha

  5. I haven’t even read The Maze Runner yet but I’m super excited because of Dylan O’Brien! And, Catching Fire of course. And The Mortal Instruments, but I’m more apprehensive than anything else for that one.

  6. Awesome list! I have heard Holes is very good. I liked the book a lot. I will have to rent the film. I am pretty excited for Divergent as well. I really love those books. I think it’s the film adaptation that I’m most interested to see because I think it could be really good!

    My TTT

  7. Oh man, I am so so so excited for City of Bones. I cannot contain my excitement.

    I also LOVE all the HP movies. I think they are great adaptations. And Holes! Another great movie and book.

    I love the 2005 P&P, too, although I think the 1995 is still my favorite because COLIN FIRTH!!

    • Yeah I think I’m a little behind with all this Delirium news… I didn’t know about the TV show, so I guess that’s what I was meant to be referencing…

Leave a Reply

