Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is about our favourite beginnings and endings in books. I am including my top five favourite first lines, and my top five favourite endings! (But for the endings, I’m just telling you the books – I don’t want to spoil anything!!!) So, in no particular order… (Click the quote or book image to link to goodreads!)

top 5 favourite first lines

Glimpse by Carol Lynch Williams

glimpse quote

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter me quote

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

book thief quote

Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent quote

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

delirium quote

top 5 favourite endings

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

dangerous girls

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone girl

If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

if you find me

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepard

the madman's daughter

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

before I fall

So tell me: What are your thoughts on these beginnings and endings?? Have you read any of these books? Do those first lines want to make you pick it up if you haven’t already?! I WANT TO KNOW!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books

  1. Yes! We both had Shatter Me– same quote…. haha :) Obviously a really good one! I still need to read Madman’s and Before I Fall. I own both, so I don’t even have a good excuse! I’ve heard good things about If You Find Me too– would I like that?

    • If you have no excuse it means you HAVE TO read them ;) and also, I think you would like If You Find Me! There’s not any of your kind of kissing, but it’s such a powerful book that it didn’t need anything like that. Definitely give it a shot!

  2. I love the designs you did for all of these! I was kind of shocked by the ending of The Madman’s Daughter, but in a good way! Shatter Me is on my list, too – I was immediately sucked into that book. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love the Shatter Me opening. The whole book, and Unravel Me, is beautifully written so I’m really glad to see you included it.
    I really need to read If You Find Me and The Madman’s Daughter soon because both sound brilliant and I’ve heard really good things.
    Great choices!

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: First Lines and Impressions from my To Be Read List | A World of Books

  5. I loved Divergent, and I have plans to read The Book Thief.

    The ending of Gone Girl kind of made me twitchy, though–I can just think of what it would be like, in the future, living that life, with that family. It’s horrifying.

  6. I haven’t read any of the books that contain your favorite endings >< Need to fix that! Especially since I've heard good things about the most of them.

    I have read some of the beginning ones though: Divergent and The Book Thief. I love the one for Glimpse though. I have never heard of that book before, but that beginning captivated me from the first line. Eek! SO MANY BOOKS!

    • I hadn’t heard of Glimpse before I read it either, I just saw it at my library and it jumped out at me for some reason. It was a great read though! You should definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

