Jamie’s A to Z Book Survey!

Hey y’all!!! I’m back! I’ve been away from the blog for almost two weeks now – with the exception of last week’s Top Ten Tuesday because I just couldn’t resist – and here’s why! From July 31-August 5 I was at an amazing country music festival in Bowmanville Ontario called Boots and Hearts. I heard so much great music from so many amazing artists, spent some time with good friends, and made a few new friends too! I’ll definitely be writing up a separate post about that festival for all you country lovers out there – ahem, Rachel ;) Anyway, I was back from that adventure on Monday, so you’re probably wondering what else I have been up to!

Well, as most of you know, I’m headed to Queen’s University in September, and I am BEYOND excited about it! So this past week I’ve been trying to gather together the last few things that I am going to need for my time there. I also found out what dorm I will be staying in this week, and it is the wonderful Waldron Tower, nicknamed Wally :) My building is located right on Lake Ontario, and was built so that every single room has a lake view! How awesome is that?! I’ve also heard some speculation that my building is haunted by a nurse who used to live in it…. So that’s a little creepy. You can read more about that here. Anywhooooo, that’s what I’ve been up to!

So, what better way to bring myself back into the blogging world after my unexpected hiatus than a fun book survey created by Jamie over at the Perpetual Page Turner!!! Here we go:

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Lemony Snicket! Oh, the good old Series of Unfortunate Events ;)

Best Sequel Ever:

Dare You To by Katie McGarry. Pushing the Limits was amazing, and I can’t wait for Crash Into You!

Currently Reading:

Asylum by Madeline Roux and If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Water or tea! In the summer though iced coffee is my go to drink :)

E-reader or Physical Book?

Oh I love my physical books! For me, reading off of an e-reader just isn’t the same. BUT, I do like having it for some of my review copies.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Wes from The Truth About Forever. Wes is one of my favourite book boyfriends, and I TOTALLY would have dated him in high school! Macy describes him as “quiet and incredible” and that is just so perfect for him. He creates these amazing metal sculptures from scrap metal, and he’s totally gorgeous, but doesn’t even know it. He’s a reformed bad boy, so you get the good boy and bad boy all in one package!! ;)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfruend. This book was on my list of Top Ten Intimidating Books, but I am so glad that I finally gave it a chance! I ended up LOVING this book to bits, and I can’t wait to read Across a Star-Swept Sea!

Hidden Gem Book:

The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Stumbling upon book blogs! I’ve always been a reader, but I used to be the type of person to read a book, and forget about it right after I finished it. Once I started blogging, I’ve noticed that I retain way more information about the books that I read, and I also find out about so many other amazing books!

Just Finished:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfruend

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I’m not a huge fan of non-fiction books, or of adult books – they scare me!!!

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix (870 pages)

Major book hangover because of:

If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

Number of Bookcases You Own:

3. Two are built in to the window seat in my bedroom, and one is downstairs and houses all of the books from when I was a kid. But I need more shelves – badly!!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

The Harry Potter Series. Let’s be honest, I’ve definitely read this series about 5 times through.

Preferred Place To Read:

Curled up in my corner of the couch, or in bed!

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through you fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.” Delirium, by Lauren Oliver

Reading Regret:

I’d have to say The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I had to read this for grade 10 English in high school, and I really just didn’t like this book.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

OMG there are so many!!! I am horrible with starting a series and then just leaving it hanging there, even though I so badly want to know what is going to happen! Let’s see, Unearthly series, Delirium series, The Infernal Devices… the list goes on.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfruend, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

JK Rowling. No explanation needed.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Across a Star-Swept Sea. I NEED to see what is going to happen to Kai and Elliot!

Worst Bookish Habit:

Probably throwing my books into my bags and purses without seeing how they land, and then they come out kind of bent…

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Your latest book purchase:

A whole lot of books from garage sales a few weekends ago! There were probably about twenty books!

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas was guilty of this!!! I just NEEDED TO KNOW what was going to happen next and how everything was going to play out!

6 thoughts on “Jamie’s A to Z Book Survey!

  1. Ah, we had such similar answers for a few of these! Definitely with you on Lemony Snicket. 13 books is a LOT for a series. I also chose a quote from Before I Fall. Lauren Oliver’s writing is just AMAZING.

  2. I still need to read For Darkness Shows the Stars…. especially since I got Across the Star Swept Sea at BEA!! Kelly (Belle of the Literati) thinks I’m an idiot…. though she thinks that quite often. She is also on my case to read The Sea of Tranquility and Throne of Glass! Yay for good times at a music festival– not my type of music…. you know this.. BUT… sounds awesome!! :)

    • WHAT?! Why on earth have you not read For Darkness Shows the Stars yet?!?! I agree with Kelly!!!! And I’m also insanely jealous that you have Across a Star Swept Sea… NEED SO BAD!!! and yes music festivals are the bombbbbb

  3. Ah, Order of the Pheonix. That’s definitely the longest book I’ve read but since I don’t have it marked on Goodreads it didn’t show up! I agree with you on Wes. He would be an excellent book boyfriend (a lot of Dessen’s boys would be, really!). It was fun to read your survey! I had a lot of fun doing this, too!

  4. Pingback: I Need Your Help!!! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

