I Need Your Help!!!

Hello everyone!!! As many of you know, I’m going away to start my freshman year of university in September!!! YAYYYYYY!!!!!! I am so unbelievably excited, and I can’t wait to move into my dorm. I talked more about that in this post – PS, my dorm is haunted!! :S

Now I want to tell you a little bit more about my school. I’m headed to Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario!! It opened its doors in 1871, making it one of the oldest universities in Canada! It’s chalk full of traditions, and has the most beautiful campus.

queens

queens 1

queens fall

Our school colours are red, blue, and yellow: aka the tricolour!

Frosh Week 2009

We take our tricolour and school spirit very seriously here at Queen’s, as evidenced by these two guys here:

img_5978-copy1

I’m entering con-ed, which is a five year program that includes teacher’s college. So by the end, I’ll be a high school math and physics teacher! But don’t worry, I’m taking english as my elective ;)

Now, let’s go back to the title of this post: I NEED YOUR HELP!!! There are actually two things I need all of your help with. Firstly, I’ve only started blogging in my year off of school. That means that I haven’t had to juggle any other steady commitments (other than working a few times a week) with my blogging. I know that a few of you started blogging while in university, or have blogged at some point while in school, or maybe you still are in school! Who knows?!! Anyways, I need to ask you:

Do you have any tips for balancing blogging and the heavy workload that comes with university???

As for the other thing that I need help with, it’s a little bit more fun to talk about. It involved books – YAY! So, my mom has told me that I am only allowed to bring a few books with me at a time to school, and the limit is 10! ONLY TEN!!!! WHAT AM I GOING TO DO?!?!?!

I need you to help me pick which ten books to bring with me in September!

Thanks for all your help!!!! Happy reading everyone :)

14 thoughts on “I Need Your Help!!!

  1. Oh my goodness, your school is GORGEOUS! Color me envious.

    My advice? Just do it! And it’s okay if you post less. We’ll still read them! Don’t stress yourself out about, and if you need a break, take one. :) But don’t stop reading! That would just be sad.

  2. First off, wow :D the campus looks really cool and it kind of looks haunted haha :P well I’m a senior in high school so I don’t really know how college students balance their book blogging life with school life and social life, but my advice is to do ALL THE SCHOOL WORK FIRST. No matter how much you want to go on the internet and comment on other people’s blogs, go on twitter etc. do school work first and THEN read and do the bloggy stuff as a reward because you already accomplished your work. :) Maybe just read for 2 hours and spend 2 hours on the blogosphere (includes updating your blog, writing reviews, leaving comments etc.) while watching T.V. so each day you have 4 hours for the bloggy world and the rest of the 20 hours is non-bloggy stuff.

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

  3. What a gorgeous campus!! Love the old buildings.

    As for the blogging- don’t overwhelm yourself. Do what you can. I find I like to write up my posts ahead of time and schedule them to come out- makes it easier for me as I can pick when I work on them (and I only post twice a week.)

    Best of luck to you!!!

  4. Ah, this post made me miss the feeling of returning to school at the end of summer! Hope you have a fantastic year.
    So, I was not very good at balancing school work and all LIFE stuff until senior year, when I started my blog. Senior year, I decided to start my blog, and I was an officer in a student organization(which basically meant I did a lot of paperwork), as well as you know, classes. Fall semester I also was doing an intensive internship that was required for graduation for my program. It was a LOT, but I hardly ever felt overwhelmed, because I finally got that balance down, and here’s how: I stopped procrastinating on school work. It was always the first thing I would do. I had a free hour in between two classes in the same building, so I did ALL my reading for other classes during that hour. Then, when I got home, I would take a small break and eat lunch, maybe watch ONE episode of a show or read some, and then I did school work. Went to my internship, which ended around 5. By that time, I’d finish any school work I had and then I had an evening completely free to read, hang out, or blog. I basically treated school like a 9 to 5 job, which let me finish around 5 or 6 most days, and it was the best change to my schedule I ever made!

  5. Whooo good luck! I blogged after undergraduate and then throughout graduate school. Studies have to come first, and it’s okay to let yourself remember that if you can’t get a post out everyday. Figure out a # of posts you would like to maintain per week and just try to stick to it! Schedule in advance if you can, but don’t beat yourself up if you can’t.

    Fangirling over how you’re going to the same school that Anne of Green Gables went to. AUGH.

  6. Good luck, you’re going to have a great time! :D College is a lot of fun! I started blogging in February, during my second year of college. For me, college work takes priority over the blog, so I don’t always get to post as much as I’d like to. I’m hoping to build up some posts this summer that I can use during the year (I don’t start back til mid-September). The campus looks lovely by the way. Have a wonderful year, and do keep blogging! :)

  7. One of my very good friends (along with a whole whack of people I knew from high school) is/went to Queens. And they loved every minute of it, as you will too! It’s a beautiful school and the students are really friendly. I’ve always kind of wished I’d gone away somewhere for university, but my high school marks weren’t high enough for me to go to U of Victoria, sadly. So I shall be living vicariously through you :)
    As for the whole balancing act? I started my blog in Dec 2011, so I was in my third year of journalism. When I first started, I wasn’t really interesting in becoming a huge part of the community — the blog was merely there to help me organize my thoughts and be a portfolio-booster. But that all changed once I started talking to people and participating in memes/features. I don’t have the greatest organizational skills in the world, so managing everything has been tough for me. But as I’m entering my last semester of university in the fall, I really have to balance both my blog and school 100% and school just has to come first. I’ve never planned posts in advance but after reading the benefits of planning/scheduling posts from other bloggers, I plan to start doing that. There are two really great posts about this that might help you out:
    Asti (A Bookish Heart): http://abookishheart.com/bookish-thoughts/bookish-thoughts-blog-organization-with-microsoft-onenote/
    Helen (My Novel Opinion): http://mynovelopinion.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/a-novel-natter-6-book-blogging-is-not-easy/
    Leanne (Literary Excursion): http://literaryexcursion.com/2013/08/02/book-blogging-journal/

    I hope these help and good luck! :)

  8. I’m so excited for you! I love all those pictures. There all of Theological Hall which is where I had the majority of my classes. I loved it!

    And we do take the tricolour seriously! Make sure you get a scarf or socks or something. And soon you’ll be learning the Oil Thigh and be making the trek out to West Campus for your education classes. And you have to go to the Toucan (they have half price nachos on Wednesday), and the Brew Pub which makes its own cream soda and get poutine from the Pita Grill on Princess Street. Ahh so many things. I’m so jealous I wish I could go back.

    Oh and random tip – it rains a lot in the spring and the wind is brutal because you’re by the water. Don’t even bother with an umbrella, it will break. Just get a coat with a good hood.

  9. Oh my gosh, I am so excited for you!!!! I remember those days! (I say it like I’m 90 years old haha. I guess it was only 8 years ago. EIGHT!?)
    Honestly? My advice is just to blog & read when you have time and do NOT stress yourself out about it. Truth, school comes first yadda yadda yadda — You’re a smart girl and you already know that :) — but if you love blogging, that’s important to keep up with too! Just read & blog when you have time and don’t let it stress you out because then it becomes un-fun (yes, un-fun) and that’s not good when a hobby is making you upset!
    Okay, that’s all the advice I have. It’s not good advice haha.

  10. Gotta love Canada for some of their really awesomely old campuses. I can definitely say I wish I had attended U of A instead of Grant MacEwan just to get a good grasp on history, although considering GMac was a college only a couple of years ago, I guess I was part of history :s
    Very exciting times, but I wouldn’t expect you to finish 10 books by the end of the year, so your mom definitely has that well played.
    I managed to do a lot of prescheduled posts so that I can free up more of my time for studying and writing, although a lot of papers don’t really start until midway, you might get a shocker.
    What are you taking?

  11. Awww, this makes me miss going dorm room stuff shopping and undergrad! Not that it was very long ago but still. your school looks gorgeous too, btw! Anyway, I’m currently in dental school and I am there at least 8-5 every day so I totally get the how will I juggle everything??? kind of panic. I read to de-stress and so I usually read a little before bed. I jot down thoughts in a notebook so it makes it easier and faster to type up reviews. I tend to write them up over the weekend and schedule them because I literally have no time to do that during the week. Howeverrr, undergrad is different. I remember having lots of free time and I can imagine you can read or write reviews during then! Obviously, do school stuff first, etc but blogging should be a fun way to do non-school things! But enjoy campus life too! I loved hanging out with people in the dorms and doing college-y things so leave time for that too! =)

  12. Holy moly, your university looks super pretty! I’m a bit jealous ;) As for the combination with blogging: I am very torn about this myself. I’m starting a new study this year as well, so it’s gonna take lots of getting used to trying to combine blogging with uni work with social things with work. I’m going slightly crazy thinking about it, so yeah. I’m still considering getting a co-blogger or guest reviewer, partly because it seems like fun and partly because it will save me so much work! And until I find someone, I’ll just post sporadically. I have decided to just blog whenever I have the time. The only big issue I have is that I barely get to comment on any blogs anymore, and that makes me sad and guilty. But I honestly can’t do anything about that right now. I hope it works out for you, and I that you’ll LOVE college!!!

Leave a Reply

