*Spoiler free!* Review: Fire With Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian (and a mini review of Burn for Burn!)

fire with fireTitle/Author: Fire with Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on August 13, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Series: Yes! Burn for Burn
Other Books by Author: Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1)
How I got this Book: From the publisher in exchange for an honest review – Thanks Simon and Schuster!
Rating: 4.5 stars
Summary From Book Flap: When sweet revenge turns sour. Book two of a trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn”t exactly go the way they”d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

For now, it looks like they got away with it. All they have to do is move on and pick up the pieces, forget there ever was a pact. But it”s not easy, not when Reeve is still a total jerk and Rennie”s meaner than she ever was before.

And then there”s sweet little Mary.she knows there”s something seriously wrong with her. If she can”t control her anger, she”s sure that someone will get hurt even worse than Reeve was. Mary understands now that it”s not just that Reeve bullied her-it”s that he made her love him.

Eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth, burn for a burn. A broken heart for a broken heart. The girls are up to the task. They”ll make Reeve fall in love with Lillia and then they will crush him. It”s the only way he”ll learn.

It seems once a fire is lit, the only thing you can do is let it burn…

My Thoughts copy

I had never planned on reading this series until I got sent an ARC of Fire with Fire in the mail from Simon and Schuster. I decided that I had no good reason not to pick up the first book, Burn for Burn, and so I did and then I moved on to read Fire with Fire! I can tell you that I am soooo happy they sent it to me, and that they got me to read the series.

Since I never actually got around to writing a full review of Burn for Burn I figured I would include a mini one here for you all. I’m going to start off by saying that I only liked Burn for Burn. I thought that it was a good story, but it just didn’t sit entirely well with me. The main plot is that there are three girls (Kat, Lillia, and Mary) who have had some not too great things done to them by some mean people, and so they band together to get revenge on them. Now, when these girls say they want to get revenge, they SERIOUSLY mean it. The things that they do to the people who were mean to them are AWFUL! In fact, this was one of the reasons that I was not a huge fan of Burn for Burn. The revenges were too awful for my liking, however I guess there wouldn’t have been much of a story if they weren’t. For these girls it was kind of a “go big or go home” situation. Anywhoooo, the book ends on a huge cliffhanger, and so naturally I had a desire to see what was going to happen to Kat, Lillia, and Mary in the next book!

So when I finally started Fire with Fire, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked loved it! The majority of the acts of revenge had taken place in the first book, so there was a lot less focus on that, and more on the effects that their revenge had on people.

I am seriously impressed with Jenny and Siobhan’s writing in this book. Each chapter is written from a different girl’s perspective, and yet the transition from chapter to chapter is so fluid. I especially enjoy how conversational the prose is. They things the characters say, and they way lines are delivered are exactly how I talk with my own friends and so is very believable.

My favourite character out of the three girls would have to be Lillia. I love her so much, and she actually seems a lot like me in some ways. She is definitely someone I could see myself being friends with. The authors also described a lot of Lillia’s outfits in detail, and they’re awesome! She has great fashion sense :P

As for the guys in this book, I really like Alex, and I like Reeve too! I can’t decide, so you can’t make me!!!!

Now, there are so many spoilery things that I would say about this book, but I’m not going to. I will say this though: There is a lot more focus on Mary in this book, who we really didn’t see a huge amount of in Burn for Burn. Also, THE ENDING!!!! That sh*t cray! I seriously need to get the third instalment – Ashes to Ashes – in my hands right now!!!

Final Thoughts

Y’all need to trust me on this one when I say push through Burn for Burn, even though there will probably be times that you want it to be over already, and then rush on to Fire with Fire because this book makes it all worth your while!!! SO GOOD!

4.5 hearts

Second opinions

Amber says that Fire with Fire is “Essential” 4.5 stars

Lauren says it was “unforgettable for me.” 4 stars

Rachel recommends it!

Talk to me

Have you read Burn for Burn? Did you like it? What about Fire with Fire? Do you think you’ll give it a shot, even if you weren’t the biggest fan of Burn for Burn? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “*Spoiler free!* Review: Fire With Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian (and a mini review of Burn for Burn!)

  1. Pingback: Burn For Burn. Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian. | Words That Flow Like Water

  2. I didn’t like how marys character gets darker. (And I personally don’t like how she has weird powers). I feel that the love diamond around the series is fantastic but lacks the romantic appeal that I saw in the summer I turned I pretty. It always keeps me hanging. Overall I like fire with fire Better than burn for burn because the book is more diverse. But hey, what do I know, its just ma opinion :)

  3. Pingback: The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2013 End of Year Book Survey! | books, etc.

Leave a Reply

