Top Ten Scariest (or Creepiest) Looking Book Covers

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

Hey everyone!!! Did ya miss me??? It’s been about a month since I last blogged, and I can tell you that it has been torture for me not having the time to do it! Well, I think that I’ve finally gotten everything under control at school now, and can dedicate time to blogging again, which I’m super pumped about!!! So, I thought I would jump back in with a TTT :D (don’t expect anything too special on this one though, I’ve lost my groove :P)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is all about those books with the covers that make you want to hide under the covers of your bed because they’re so scary (or creepy!) looking! Also, while looking for books with creepy covers, I noticed that I don’t really have a lot of them, I guess because I don’t really read that many scary books! I could only find seven. So, in no particular order…

the mumurings

The Murmurings by Carly Anne West

I’m getting a major “The Grudge” vibe from this book cover!!! I’ve not read The Murmurings yet, but it sounds really interesting/creepy.

asylum 2

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

This book has one scary cover if you ask me! The book is also chalk-full of these creeptastic photos! Read my review of Asylum here.

pretty girl13

Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley

For me, it’s the combination of the creepy picture and the scary font that makes this cover so scary!!! It might also be the fact that I know the story behind the cover, which is way scarier than it looks. If you haven’t read Pretty Girl-13, you really should check it out. Here’s my review!

insomnia j r johannson

Insomnia by J.R. Johnasson

The eyeeeeee. Eyes are creepy, okay? Especially in combination with everything else that’s going on in this cover. I haven’t picked up Insomnia yet, but it’s been on my list for a while! The MC enters the dream of the last person he made eye contact with every time he falls asleep. Intriguing??? YES!!!

brights light susan juby

Bright’s Light by Susan Juby

Don’t even get me started on this one. The blank stare on this porcelain? face is creeping me out to the max!!! It reminds me of a store mannequin, and boy, are those things every creepy!

ten gretchen mcneil

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Dark cover. Red writing. One creepy looking deserted island in the background. Again, I haven’t read this one yet, but how awesome does the description sound?!

SHHHH!
Don’t spread the word!
Three-day weekend. Party at White Rock House on Henry Island.
You do NOT want to miss it.

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their reasons for being there (which involve T.J., the school’s most eligible bachelor) and look forward to three glorious days of boys, booze and fun-filled luxury.

But what they expect is definitely not what they get, and what starts out as fun turns dark and twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine.

Suddenly people are dying, and with a storm raging, the teens are cut off from the outside world. No electricity, no phones, no internet, and a ferry that isn’t scheduled to return for two days. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on each other, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Well everyone, there you have it! Some of the scariest and creepiest book covers out there (to me anyways!) The book covers that make me want to do this:

home alone scream

So tell me: What are your thoughts on these books? Have you read any? What about the covers, are they scary/creepy to you too?! I WANT TO KNOW!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Scariest (or Creepiest) Looking Book Covers

  1. Ooh similar covers scare us! I considered a lot of the titles on your list, like The Murmurings, Asylum, and Insomnia. I liked Pretty Girl-13. Nice choices!

  2. Ewwww…. I haaate that bright lights and asylum cover!!! miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children as always creeped me out big time. i always avoided it until he came to a b&n near ours and i felt like i had to give in and buy it! hahaha

    • How did I forget about Miss p’s!! That one creeps me out too. My mom bought that one though, so we can just share it haha. I haven’t read it yet though but I’m dying to!

Leave a Reply

