Review: The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

the promise of amazingTitle/Author: The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine
Publisher/Year: Balzer + Bray on December 31, 2013
Rating:  ★½
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: None yet
How I got this Book: From the publisher in exchange for an honest review – Thanks HarperCollins!
Summary From Goodreads: Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who’s always done what she’s supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.

One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

My Thoughts copy

The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine was not as amazing as the title leads you to believe. Sadly, there wasn’t much amazing in there for me at all.  Wren Caswell was a likeable character, but she wasn’t anything special. She was too typical for me. You know, the indecisive, average at everything, middle of her class (socially and academically) kind of girl. Wren works at her family’s Banquet hall, and while working one night, she saves a hottie teen boy from chocking to death on a cocktail weenie. And then BAM! Instalove hits you right in the face.

We learn that this boy Wren saved is Grayson Barrett, a bad boy who wants to change his ways… maybe? He manages to land a job working for Wren’s family’s business to, you guessed it, be closer to Wren and spend more time with her! Told from dual point of view, this is where the book took a turn for the worst. From this point onward – and even a little bit before – all we ever got to read about was the internal banter of Wren and Grayson each wondering if the other one liked them (which they obviously did) and what they should do about it.

We also got to read about Grayson and all of his past term-paper-pimp antics, and his band of miscreant friends and all of the trouble that they like to get into. Which to me, just didn’t seem realistic. I don’t want to give anything away, but I’ve never heard of a group of young teenagers doing things like that before. But even Grayson alone didn’t do it for me. He just didn’t seem like a good person, even though he was trying to change.

Final Thoughts

All in all, The Promise of Amazing started out kind of okay. I’ve got to admit, the moment that Wren saves Grayson from choking was kind of cute. But after that it all went downhill for me. I found the characters underdeveloped and unrealistic, and therefore I couldn’t connect with any of them. And I also found the plot (/lack of a real plot other than their internal bantering?) mind-numbingly boring. But, it has a really cute cover!

1.5 hearts

Second opinions

Diane said The Promise of Amazing “had so much potential but lost its steam.”

Amber said it was “bland.”

Debby said “It wasn’t a completely terrible read.”

Talk to me

Have you read The Promise of Amazing? What were your thoughts on it? Do you like the cover? If you haven’t read it, do you still think you might, or is it a no-go? LET ME KNOW! :)

5 thoughts on “Review: The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

  1. This is pretty much what I’ve heard from others, so I think I’m definitely skipping it. It’s too bad because the cover is really cute and it seems like it could be this great, adorable read, but I’ve heard the romance is just so-so. Sad you didn’t like this one more but thanks for the review!

  2. I was literally just about to place an order and buy this one because I thought it sounded so sweet – but alas, I’m going to have scratch it off the list! 1.5 just doesn’t cut it for me. I want something really swoonworthy!

    Really glad I read your review in time!

    Brenna from Esther’s Ever After

  3. Oh Snap Natalie! I didn’t even read your review, but I opened this to see the rating and … well I don’t want to read it now lol. I’m still going to but this is exactly like the conversation we read the other night!!! I need to stop doing this haha… now all I will think about is your one and a half stars :P I still love the cover though :P

  4. I totally agree with you. The characters were average, but I did think the part where Wren saved Grayson when he was choking was cute. I just thought Grayson was stalkerish a lot during the beginning, especially when he decided to work at Wren’s restaurant. Pretty creepy in my opinion. This one wasn’t amazing at all, but I think I gave it 3 stars because it was ‘okay’.

  5. This one had so much promise for me but (pun intended) the promise of amazing just didn’t deliver for me! I put this one down to come back to it and I really just have no desire to pick it back up again! :(

Leave a Reply

