Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirlTitle/Author: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Publisher/Year: St. Martin’s Press on September 13, 2013
Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮
Genre: YA Contemporary/Romance
Series: Nope. STANDALONE!
Other Books by Author: Attachments, Eleanor & Park
How I got this Book: Finished copy sent to me from St. Martin’s Press. Thanks!
Summary From Goodreads: In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

My Thoughts copy

Wow. That’s the first and only word I can think of to start off this review. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was just perfect in every aspect. Fangirl centres around Cath and her sister Wren and their transition into University as freshman students. Reading this after having only been at university for a month myself, I was able to relate very easily to the feelings that Cath was having. Although I know that I am a much more outgoing person than Cath, I could very easily imagine a person in my position who is not feeling the exact same way, and I thought that was great.

Rainbow Rowell also created extremely realistic relationships in Fangirl. And when I say this, I mean all of them. Cath and her sister, Wren; Cath and her father; Cath and her absent mother; Cath and her roomate; Cath and Levi. In every single situation that each of these relationships were submersed in, the way that they acted and interacted together felt genuine and real. Now, speaking of relationships, this leads me to Levi.

Levi. Ohhhhhh Levi. What’s not to love? He loves coffee… and I don’t really want to say too much else about him, because learning all about him and how his relationship with Cath evolves is one of the best parts of the book. I’ll leave that part for Rowell to take care of ;) But one thing that I especially love about the romance in this novel is that although it is a main part of the book, it doesn’t ever really take centre stage, and it shares the spotlight with other important aspects of the story.

Fangirl touches on a lot of different topics, and does it well, never going too much overboard with one and forgetting about the other. There is a perfect balance between all of them. This book has it all: a girl who had a perfect, easy time in high school thanks to a great relationship with her twin sister/best friend and all the perks that brought about, but who needs to break out of her shell now that she’s in university and on her own; a father who has raised his two daughters wonderfully, despite experiencing worsening depression; and a wonderful relationship that slowly develops between to people who are so different and yet so alike.

Final ThoughtsI have nothing bad to say about Fangirl at all. Cath was a wonderful, relatable character who I would love to be friends with. Levi was, well, Levi. Rainbow wrote a book that I will love for years and years to come, and that became an immediate favourite once I was finished.

5 hearts

what monica thoughtY’all remember Monica, right? Well she had her first guest post here on Books, etc. just a few days ago! Anyway, I thought it would be fun if she shared some of her thoughts on Fangirl with the rest of you too, so here they are:

I cannot think of one major thing that I disliked in Fangirl. My favourite part was how relatable it was.  Since I’m a first year student at university too, I could really relate to what Cath was going through with a new school.  I could just picture this story happening as if it was happening at Queen’s, maybe even to the girl down the hall from me.  Also the way that Rowell created the relationships between the characters was realistic and relatable too.  Oh and Levi. He was definitely one of my favourite parts about this book, hands down, for many reasons. ;) This book also gives me hope that me and my own fangirly, flailing arms will one day be accepted and appreciated.

Favourite Quote

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

Second opinions

Lauren said, “the characters were outstanding.”

Yasmine says Fangirl “is a very good book so reading it is definitely something everyone should do.”
Talk to me

Have you read Fangirl? What did you think of it? Have you read anything else by Rainbow Rowell? Do you have any suggestions of books similar to this one? LET ME KNOW! :)

5 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist | books, etc.

  2. I really enjoyed Fangirl as well! I loved that I could relate to Cath so well, particularly with her experience as a college freshman. Plus, I loved that she was a fan fiction writer. And I happened to love Levi as well ;)

  3. I’m SOOOOO glad that you loved this one too Natalie :) And thanks for quoting me !!! It was just sooo soo fabulous. I can totally see why everyone loves Rainbow Rowell after reading it, she truly is a fantastic character creator and story teller!

Leave a Reply

