Top Ten Underrated YA Books

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is about underrated books and/or authors, and I decided to narrow mine down to books in the YA genre.  This list is composed of nine books that I feel not enough people have read, or ones that I loved that not a lot of people talk about or have heard of! I am also including my favourite quote from each book.  So, in no particular order… (click the image to go to goodreads!)

sisters in sanitySisters in Sanity by Gayle Forman

That’s all we can do, Brit. Take steps. Take enough of them and suddenly, you’re somewhere.

Love and other perishable itemsLove and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo

She even takes the goings-on of fictitious characters personally.

smart girls get what they want

Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer

In fiction, I searched for my favorite authors, women I have trusted to reassure me than not all teenage guys are total ditwads, that the archetype of the noble cute hero who devotes himself to the girl he loves has not gone the way of the rotary phone. That all I had to do was be myself (smart, hardworking, funny) and be patient and kind and he and I would find each other.

As Bea would say, this why they call it fiction.

for darkness shows the stars

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Envy hurt exponentially more than heartbreak because your soul was torn in two, half soaring with happiness for another person, half mired in a well of selfpity and pain.

the duff cover

The DUFF: The Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Wesley Rush was the most disgusting womanizing playboy to ever darken the doorstep of Hamilton High… but he was kind of hot. Maybe if you could put him on mute… and cut off his hands… maybe—just maybe—he’d be tolerable then. Otherwise, he was a real piece of shit. Horn dog shit.

pretty girl13

 Pretty Girl-13 by Liz Coley

For three long years, all I’ve wanted to know was what happened to you. Now… I don’t honestly know if I want you to remember.

wild awake

Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

People are like cities: We all have alleys and gardens and secret rooftops and places where daisies sprout between the sidewalk cracks, but most of the time all we let each other see is is a postcard glimpse of a skyline or a polished square. Love lets you find those hidden places in another person, even the ones they didn’t know were there, even the ones they wouldn’t have thought to call beautiful themselves.

the lost girl

The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

What is this power the dead have over the ones they leave behind? It’s strange and beautiful and frightening, this deathless love that human beings continue to feel for the ones they’ve lost.

if you find me

If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

Funny how we can’t hold onto time, even when it’s strapped to our wrists.

So tell me: What books or authors do you think are underrated? Are there any of these books that you think you might add to your TBR? Have you read any of these books already? I WANT TO KNOW!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Underrated YA Books

  1. I’ve read Wild Awake and The DUFF and I really liked them! I have Pretty Girl 13 on my TBR, and I’m definitely bumping it up! Adding the others to TBR too. Thanks for the recs! =)

Leave a Reply

