Top Ten Books to Make You Swoon

Top Ten Tuesday

A weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish :)

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post is about the top ten books that make you swoon. Perfect for Valentine’s Day! I had a really hard time narrowing this list down to ten books, so be warned: These are without a doubt ten swoonworthy books, but they might not be the ten swooniest books out there!!! So, in no particular order… (click the titles to lead you to goodreads!)

swoony books 1

Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins
Paris, boarding school, boy with an English accent. What more could you want?

Shatter Me & Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi
Shower scene and Chapter 62… Need I say more?

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
Levi is super adorable, and is so great to Cath.

My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick
Jace Garrett. The boy of my dreams. Why can’t I have a super hot, loving, amazing boy next door?!

Pushing the Limits – Katie McGarry
Hot boy with tattoos. Mmmmmmm.

swoony books 2

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith
Meeting and falling in love at the airport while waiting for a delayed flight? YES PLEASE! Don’t forget – British boy!!!

The Truth About Forever – Sarah Dessen
Wes – the tortured artist. Another bonus: NO INSTALOVE IN SIGHT!

Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead
Dimitri <3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3 ASFWEIFJWLGLVNLWEWFWLEIJF. yup.

The Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot
OK, who doesn’t want some Michael lovin’?

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
The classic swoonworthy male: Mr. Darcy.

So, what are you favourite swoonworthy books? Any you want to recommend? Are you fans of any of the books I have chosen? I WANT TO KNOW!

Review: The Secret Ingredient by Stewart Lewis

secret ingredientTitle/Author: The Secret Ingredient by Stewart Lewis
Publisher/Year: Delacorte Books for Young Readers on June 11, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: You Have Seven Messages, Rockstarlet: A Novel
How I got this Book: eARC from NetGalley, Thank you!
Summary From Goodreads: 

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Whycomes a journey of family, food, romance, and self-discovery as Olivia, a teen chef living in L.A., finds a vintage cookbook and begins a search for her birthmother that will change her life forever.

Olivia doesn’t believe in psychics. But the summer before her senior year of high school, she meets one in an elevator.

This summer will be pivotal, the psychic warns. Please remember—all your choices are connected.

Olivia loves her life in Silverlake, Los Angeles, but lately, something’s been missing. And after getting this strange advice, her world begins to change. A new job leads Olivia to a gorgeous, mysterious boy named Theo. And as Olivia cooks the recipes from a vintage cookbook she stumbles upon, she begins to wonder if the mother she’s never known might be the secret ingredient she’s been lacking.

But sometimes the things we search for are the things we’ve had all along.

My Thoughts copy

When I started The Secret Ingredient, I was really looking forward to it! I’ve been reading a lot of light, beach reads lately and so I thought this would be another good book like that to read. For the first 50 pages or so I wasn’t fully invested in the story for whatever reason, I do not know. All of a sudden I was drawn into the book and had finished it in a mere afternoon!

This book focuses on Olivia, a teenager living in Los Angeles with her adopted brother and their adoptive parents. Olivia’s family is not traditional – her parents are a gay couple – but she’s never really had a problem with this. Once in a while she would wonder what it would be like to have a mom, but never longer than a fleeting thought. But more and more these days Olivia has been thinking about her mom, and who she might be. She sets out on a journey to find her birth mother, and stumbles upon a new job, a new boy, and a vintage cookbook along the way.

Olivia is a cook, and she has always loved cooking. After finding the vintage cookbook, she begin to cook a lot of the recipes from it. She notices some notes scrawled in the margins of the cookbook from the old owner, and tries to imagine her life story. Olivia has a really good time picturing the old owner and all of the things that she may or may not have experienced in her life. Sometimes, Olivia even writes little notes back to the owner in the cookbook. I really liked the secondary plot of the book that involved this cookbook.

The boy Olivia meets and eventually starts dating is Theo. Although I liked their relationship together (SLIGHT SPOILER AHEAD: except the sort-of ending of it) I really didn’t connect with Theo, and/or think that their relationship was relevant to the main plot of Olivia finding her birth mother.

Final Thoughts

Although I ended up devouring this book in one afternoon, I did not LOVE it. I liked it, I thought it was good, I just didn’t LOVE it. The plotline was quite loose, but I think that worked okay for the story. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a fun, light beach read that you can power through in a day!

Talk to me

Have you read anything by Stewart Lewis? Does this book sound like something you might like? Do you like finding vintage books like cookbooks and looking through them for evidence of the past owner?

Review: This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

this is what happy looks likeTitle/Author: This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher/Year: Poppy on April 2, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Storm Makers, The Comeback Season, and You are Here
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

My Thoughts copy

I read this book as part of the Spring into Summer Read-Along, and it was perfect… for that. It was a good book to lead into summer, because it was a very quick read (despite it being 400+ pages), and it was very light and predictable. This book was, to me, not as good as Jennifer’s other book The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sightalthough I still enjoyed it.

The book started off with a really cute email exchange between Ellie and Graham, although at this point neither of them know who the other is. I thought that the premise for this book, which all started with that email exchange prologue, was quite creative! It’s very possible that someone could email the wrong person, and then easily strike up a conversation with them. Also, who doesn’t want that person to turn out to be a famous movie star!! Unfortunately, I thought that this concept could have been taken farther than it was, and could have been a little bit less predictable.

Ellie was a good main character, who knows what she wants and works hard to get it. She also has a good relationship with her mother, with the exception of the topic of her father. There is a bit of a sub-plot in the beginning regarding Ellie’s father, which pick up in the second half of the book and becomes part of the main plot. I liked the bit about Ellie’s father, and I understand that it was essential to Graham and Ellie’s relationship, but I do not agree with the fact that it was practically just dropped, out of the blue! The way the media in the story dealt with this was truly not how something like this would go down in real life.

I also Graham as a character too. He wasn’t my favourite, and there weren’t too many swoonworthy things about him, but I can appreciate the fact that he didn’t let his fame get to his head, and remained “normal” after being thrust into the spotlight. As for secondary characters, this book leaves a lot to be desired. With the exception of Quinn, Ellie’s best friend, we see veryyyyy few other secondary characters. To me, these characters are important, as they can reveal even more about the MCs.

Lastly, I just wanted to point out that I love how Ellie named her Beagle Bagel, and that I want a pet pig like Graham and have ever since I saw the movie Uptown Girls. Also, I adored the setting! Ellie’s little town sounds so quaint, and sort of reminds me of Stars Hollow from Gilmore Girls!

Final Thoughts

This book was good, but not great. It was perfect for a light read to ring in Summer-time. It was a little too predictable for my liking, and I agree with Betty in the fact that it was quite cheesy.Favourite Quote

“How can you know it makes you happy if you’ve never experienced it?”
“There are different kinds of happy,” she said. “Some kinds don’t need any proof.”Talk to me

Have you read This is WHat Happy Looks Like? Did you like it? Have you read anything else by Jennifer Smith? Do you have any creative pet names?

Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

love at first sightTitle/Author: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher/Year: Poppy/Little Brown on January 2, 2012
Genre: YA Romance/Contemporary
Series: Nope!
Other Books by Author: This is What Happy Looks Like, The Comeback Season, You Are Here and many more!
How I got this Book: Purchased
Summary From Goodreads: Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row. Continue reading