Waiting on Wednesday: The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray

waitingonwednesday“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights one book that we are super excited about being released!

the dollhouse asylumThe Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray

Spencer Hill Press
Expected October 22, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields–a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus–she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne’s heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now “Persephone,” and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they’ll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they’ll die.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This synopsis sounds so interesting! I’m intrigued by the dystopian element, but even more so because it really sounds like Mary Gray has taken the typical dystopian story and made it her own.  The perfect subdivision Elysian Fields sounds extremely creepy, as well as the guy who made it.  I’m interested to see what happens to all of the people who are placed in it, and why they suddenly all have names that reflect the most tragic romances in history! Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund

waitingonwednesday“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights one book that we are super excited about being released!

across a starswwept seaAcross a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund (For Darkness Shows the Stars #2)

Balzer + Bray
Expected October 15, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Centuries after wars nearly destroyed civilization, the two islands of New Pacifica stand alone, a terraformed paradise where even the Reduction—the devastating brain disorder that sparked the wars—is a distant memory. Yet on the isle of Galatea, an uprising against the ruling aristocrats has turned deadly. The revolutionaries’ weapon is a drug that damages their enemies’ brains, and the only hope is rescue by a mysterious spy known as the Wild Poppy.

On the neighboring island of Albion, no one suspects that the Wild Poppy is actually famously frivolous aristocrat Persis Blake. The teenager uses her shallow, socialite trappings to hide her true purpose: her gossipy flutternotes are encrypted plans, her pampered sea mink is genetically engineered for spying, and her well-publicized new romance with handsome Galatean medic Justen Helo… is her most dangerous mission ever.

Though Persis is falling for Justen, she can’t risk showing him her true self, especially once she learns he’s hiding far more than simply his disenchantment with his country’s revolution and his undeniable attraction to the silly socialite he’s pretending to love. His darkest secret could plunge both islands into a new dark age, and Persis realizes that when it comes to Justen Helo, she’s not only risking her heart, she’s risking the world she’s sworn to protect.

In this thrilling adventure inspired by The Scarlet Pimpernel, Diana Peterfreund creates an exquisitely rendered world where nothing is as it seems and two teens with very different pasts fight for a future only they dare to imagine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I recently finished reading For Darkness Shows the Stars (the book before this one) and I haven’t gotten around to posting my review yet, but I loved that book!! The writing was fantastic, and the concept of the Reduction was so interesting and unique! I’m a huge fan of retellings, and this one here is a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernell, and although I haven’t actually read that before, I don’t think that will effect my enjoyment of the book! I hadn’t read Persuasion before I read For Darkness Shows the Stars and I sill loved it, and I even feel like I will understand Persuasion better whenever I do get around to reading it. I can’t wait to read this new book by the amazing Diana Peterfruend!!

Waiting on Wednesday: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

waitingonwednesday“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights one book that we are super excited about being released!

goodbye rebel blueGoodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Amulet Books
Expected October 1, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Goodbye, Rebel Blue sounds like it is going to be a book with a lot of feels. I love books with a bucket list sort of idea, and this one sounds like it is going to be good! I also like that it says she falls for the “golden boy do-gooder.” I have nothing against all those bad-boys who are in YA books, but it’s nice to see a good boy every once in a while too!! I love the book cover too!

Waiting on Wednesday: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

waitingonwednesday“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights one book that we are super excited about being released!

allegiantAllegiant by Veronica Roth

Harper Collins Children’s
Expected October 22, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

One choice will define you.

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth’s #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I know it doesn’t say too much about this book at all in the description, but COME ON! It’s VERONICA ROTH! I loved Divergent, really liked Insurgent (even though some little things kind of bothered me), so I can only imagine that I am at least going to LIKE this one. I can’t wait to see how Veronica is going to end it all, especially after the huge plot twist she threw in at the end of Insurgent!!!