Review: The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

the vincent boysTitle/Author: The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines
Publisher/Year: Simon Pulse on October 12, 2011
Genre: YA Romance
Series: Yes (but dear Lord whyyyyy?)
Other Books by Author: The Vincent Brothers (The Vincent Boys #2), Too Far Series, Sea Breeze Series
How I got this Book: Purchased for my Kindle App
Summary From Goodreads: Get seduced by a sizzling account of attraction and betrayal in this previously self-published phenomenon.There was something wicked about Beau that drew me to him. What was wrong with me? Why did I want to sin so badly?

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…

My Thoughts copy

Oh God this book… It was just… bad. Just plain bad. I read this as a part of the Spring into Summer Readalong hosted by Cass And Judith, which was good, because we all got to laugh together about how bad the book was!!!

It starts off kinda okay, for like the first chapter or so. You think, YAY this book is going to be so hick and southern! But then you realize that there is a complete lack of southern atmosphere, save for all these field parties and the overuse of the word y’all. Also, Ashton’s love interest seems really hot right?! Well he is! Except for he’s a huge douchebag and that makes him NOT HOT. You think maybe he just acts like a douche and has a soft, kind side underneath like most books with a character that acts like that? NOPE! I really really disliked Beau. And WHAT KIND OF NAME IS THAT!? My friend has a DOG named Beau. A little, tiny, teacup dog named Beau.

I also think this book really lacked a good story, and was SERIOUSLY REPETITIVE. All we heard about this book was Ashton and how she was supposed to be this perfect little preacher’s daughter with the perfect boyfriend (Sawyer Vincent) but she really just wanted to be with Beau – which was MEGA INSTA-LOVE! Sawyer left for the summer, so Ashton would make out with Beau and feel guilty, and then repeat this cycle about a million times!!!

And then it ended. Well, there was a major family secret revealed first, Sawyer came home, AND THEN it ended. I really rushed reading the end of this book because I just wanted the torture of reading it to be over!!!Final Thoughts

This book totally wasn’t the book for me, or for multiple other participants of the readalong. BUT, I have read some reviews from people who did (miraculously), like this book, so I guess if you really want to you could give it a shot! I personally will NOT be picking up the sequel, (or anything else by Abbi Glines for that matter) after reading this book.
Favourite Quote

I was already headed for Hell, I might as well enjoy the ride. – Beau Vincent
Talk to meHave you read this book? What did you think of it? I clearly wasn’t a fan, but maybe there are some out there who are?! Have you read anything else by Abbi Glines?

10 thoughts on “Review: The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

  1. Oh man, I’ve been seeing a lot of reviews recently where people reaally didn’t like this one. However, I’m pretty sure I OWN this somewhere on my kindle because previously I’d seen people who had liked it. Maybe I’ll put off reading it for now… haha

    • I haven’t actually read any reviews of her other work, and I know I shouldn’t base it all off of this one book, but it’s so hard not to! It was just very disappointing for me.

  2. Gah, that sounds so disappointing!! At least you had a readalong to get you through it – it sounds like the kind of book that might’ve been a DNF without the added push, lol.

  3. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 24, 2013 – May 30, 2013 | books, etc.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Things on My Reading Wishlist | books, etc.

Leave a comment