Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

clockwork angelTitle/Author: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Publisher/Year: McElderry Books on August 31, 2010
Genre: YA Paranormal
Series: The Infernal Devices
Other Books by Author: The Mortal Instruments Series
How I got this Book: Borrowed from a friend
Summary From Goodreads: When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length . . . everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world. . . . and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

My Thoughts copy

So many of my book blogger friends were RAVING about Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series – and even a few of my IRL friends too! – so I decided it was about time that I gave it a shot. And, well, I am so incredibly glad that I did! This book pulls you right in and wastes no time getting right into the thick of the story. Clockwork Angel was a very fast-paced book, and I thouroughly enjoyed that aspect. Well, let’s be honest here, I enjoyed every aspect of this book!!!

The next thing I especially liked about Clockwork Angel was the world it took place in. Cassandra did a fantastic job creating a unique and exciting world for Tessa and Will, and all the rest of the great characters! The descriptions of rooms, places, and people are so detailed that you can picture exactly what Cassandra had in her mind while she was writing. Also, I’m glad that this book took place in Victorian England. It is one of my favourite time periods, what with the way all of the buildings looked, how everyone dressed, and how they spoke!

Tessa was a great main character, and I loved everything about her! But most importantly, I loved how she loves to read!!! That’s also a major plus for one of the male leads, William Herondale. Dear Lord, I am so unbelievably in love with Will Herondale and how hot he is that I don’t even care how awful he can be at some times! Well, most times. The other male lead is Jem, and he is the sweetest, nicest, most kind boy you will ever meet. He is amazing in every single way, and does everything in his power to save his friends. Unfortunately, Jem is sick – VERY SICK – and who knows if he can be saved!!

I don’t want to go too much into the plot here, because I don’t want to ruin anything! But here’s what you need to know: Tessa goes to England to look for her brother. Tessa finds out she has special shape-changing powers!! There are two evil women aptly nicknamed the Dark Sisters who have it in for Tessa. Tessa eventually lives with some awesome people (ahem, Shadowhunters) who take great care of her! She meets Will, has a short but UH-MAAAAAZING make-out session with him. She meets Jem. She’s torn between the two!! There are also some people that aren’t really people at all, but are made out of cogs and other clockwork pieces!!
Final Thoughts

Seriously, drop whatever you’re doing right now and read Clockwork Angel. All of my friends were right about how flippin’ fantastic this book is!!! I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in the series, and I will most likely DEVOUR Clockwork Prince when I do.Favourite Quote

“You know,” Gabriel said, “there was a time I thought we could be friends, Will.”

“There was a time I thought I was a ferret,” Will said, “but that turned out to be the opium haze. Did you know it had that effect? Because I didn’t.”Talk to me

Have you read Clockwork Angel? Or Cassandra Clare’s other series The Mortal Instruments? What do you like about these books? Who do you like better: Will or Jem?

10 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

  1. Loooove that you loved it! :-)
    Umm but she doesn’t live with Downworlders, the Shadowhunters would be extremelyyyy offended to read that! ;-) Haha
    They hateee them pretty much lol
    Well some do I guess… TMI goes into more details about the mix between them! :-)
    I’m sooo excited to talk to you about themmmm!

  2. Pingback: Friday Flashback: May 3, 2013 – May 16, 2013 | books, etc.

  3. Pingback: The Clockwork Angel Review | Recipes, Reading, and Real Life

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books of 2013 (so far) | books, etc.

  5. I’m really glad that you enjoyed reading Clockwork Angel. Unfortunately, I didn’t think it lived up the hype :/ I didn’t really enjoy it because I thought the pacing was slow at the beginning so I was a bit bored while reading it at times (SORRY! You’re probably like, WHAT!?). It was an okay read for me. I’m still going to read the rest of Cassandra Clare’s books though.
    Leigh @ Little Book Star

Leave a comment